PDA

View Full Version : DeskCNC question - help!



dmparrott
02-03-2007, 01:12 PM
Hi guys,

I am in the process of converting my mill/drill to CNC and need some help. I am using a Xylotex 3-axis board with the 495 oz. motors. When I recieved these items, I hooked them up and ran the motors with a simple program from K-cam3. Everything worked perfectly the first time out so I know I had everything hooked up correctly. But now I want to set up the DeskCNC software that I am going to use, but it comes with its own controller board. The literature that came with it is not very specific. So now I need help with how to hook up the two boards without frying them! Has anyone out there had experience with this situation? Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Dennis

belli
02-03-2007, 04:10 PM
Hi ,

There is another possiblity, purchase a DeskCNC breakout board and this will simplify all your wiring headaches, see http://www.cncdirect.co.za/htm/cnc.html

Regards
Greg

bbergami
02-03-2007, 04:11 PM
Try this.
http://www.deskcnc.com/controller2nd.html

Just hook up the appropriate step/dir output to your xylotex board.

Bert

dmparrott
02-15-2007, 07:38 PM
Thanks for your help guys. I went ahead and wired up the two boards after I decoded which pins on the IDC connector mated with the pins on the parallel port. I only hooked up the step and direction outputs and lo and behold, it worked! I'm in the process of installing the steppers on the mill now and hope to get it up and running soon. I'd be glad to post some pics of my progress if anyone has any interest. Thanks again.

Dennis