PDA

View Full Version : Man These VFD's are GREAT!



ww_kayak
01-15-2007, 10:20 PM
To be honest I had never even heard of VFD's until I started reading the CNCZone forums. I just picked up an old Bridgeport (http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30026), and needed 3-phase. Well during the usual search for home built rotary phase converters I kept seeing references to VFD? Long story short, I picked up an L200 (hitachi) from drivewarehouse.com (http://www.drivewarehouse.com). I tell ya, this old mill isn't even close to CNC ready(yet), but I had to hook up power and make sure everything worked, before I tear it down :devious:. Boy, talk about smooth acceleration and quite running.

The only assumption I made was that I had a 4-pole motor. The speeds on my motor's faceplate seem to infer a 4-pole motor that can be run with 2-poles for high speed? You know what the say about assumptions ;). It seems to work fine. Does this seem correct?

Here are some pics of the very temporary hookup of the VFD. I never thought that starting and stopping a motor could be so much fun,LOL

Al_The_Man
01-15-2007, 11:34 PM
The only assumption I made was that I had a 4-pole motor. The speeds on my motor's faceplate seem to infer a 4-pole motor that can be run with 2-poles for high speed? You know what the say about assumptions ;). It seems to work fine. Does this seem correct?


That is a 4 pole motor but you can't run it as 2 pole, what you can usually do is run it at 2 pole motor speed by running the VFD up to 120hz.
Al.

ww_kayak
01-16-2007, 10:28 AM
Thanks Al,

It's hard to read in the picture, but the R.P.M range on the motor is 1420 and 2750. What determines which of those speeds the motor runs at?

I'm just curious, as long as it works I probably won't mess with to many of the parameters on the VFD.

Thanks

Tom

Willbird
01-16-2007, 06:55 PM
I'm reading the motor plate in the picture, and I'm gonna say it says 1420 and 1750 with the diff being whether it is running on 50 cycle or 60 cycle AC.


Bill

Willbird
01-16-2007, 07:01 PM
http://www.driveswarehouse.com/Drives/AC+Drives/Compact+VFD/L200-022NFU.html


So with that guy right there I could control a 3hp motor with my cnc4pc C11 multi-function cnc board and Mach3 ??

Bill

ww_kayak
01-17-2007, 07:47 AM
Doh!, ya that would make more sense. Good eye.

Willbird
01-17-2007, 09:06 AM
not good eye, just "fill in the blanks" hehe, if I had a dime for every motor plate I have seen that was missing some info I would be rich :-)

Dugg
02-16-2007, 11:21 AM
Sorry, a tad off topic... I've looked at air compressors at Homely Depot which are advertsed at 8 HP, but when I look at the the motor plate for horsepower, the low dollar Emerson motors say "spl." rather than identify the actual HP. Recently I found one the said 5 HP...... on an air compressor rated at 8 HP. I think I'll save up for an Ingersol Rand or other commercial brand.