PDA

View Full Version : Along path 3d entry



yham
02-24-2016, 05:50 PM
HI guys,


I am wondering how to solve this issue with ramp in. If I want to make ramp in on every level, it does it, but I would like that Z axis is going down from upper level to lover, without lifting Z, moving back and then applying new ramp for the next level. Z axis is making a kind of a loop, just to make same entry point. Basically what I am looking for is something what Aspire has as a ramp in. Is there a way to make it, or I don't see something what is obvious.

Thanks

yham
03-19-2016, 04:14 PM
I assume, I was not clear enough. So here is a shot of what bothers me.
313046
So, is there a way of preventing tool to go up every time it starts new level of cutting but continue new level with ramp in?

thanks

Melkiades
03-30-2016, 06:02 PM
You using tapered tool. For next level cutting it should be raised first, then shifted inside for range depends of taper.
RC 2016 has option "Keep tool down" but i not sure it can help you.
To keep tool down try using straight bit

yham
03-30-2016, 10:29 PM
Hi Melkiades,

Regardless of the tool, it does the same. Keep tool down is function in pocketing operation. I was referring to profile cutting.

Melkiades
03-31-2016, 01:58 AM
I start understand. You need doing ramp without departure section.
It's impossible. Approach/departure is part of cycle begin-end.
You may only reduce it by choosing Skim in clearance geometry.
But take a note - Skim ignoring rest of stock, it means model only. Easy way to brake tool at G0

yham
03-31-2016, 07:12 AM
I start understand. You need doing ramp without departure section.
It's impossible. Approach/departure is part of cycle begin-end.
You may only reduce it by choosing Skim in clearance geometry.
But take a note - Skim ignoring rest of stock, it means model only. Easy way to brake tool at G0

You are right. It looks like they didn't think about continuing with ramp down to the next layer from the current one. :(