PDA

View Full Version : Why surfcam doesn't have UNDO feature?



qmas99
12-10-2006, 11:26 PM
Surfcam users are the best!, do it right 100% so they don't put in UNDO feature.

rbest27
12-11-2006, 12:06 AM
I think you're right...I never make mistakes!!

CNCRim
12-11-2006, 01:28 AM
yes it does have undo, look at it again.... the only one don't has undo is surface.

moldcore
12-11-2006, 09:16 PM
“yes it does have undo, look at it again.... the only one don't has undo is surface.”

Tell me you’re kidding newtexas2006. Surfcam is missing too many basic features that even Bobcrap and programs costing 1/10 have. Of course it has more to offer, but if they don’t start getting their asses in gear and start putting out a product that people care about they won’t have anymore customers who care.

tnik
12-12-2006, 01:22 PM
some features have an undo function, some don't.

one tip I've found is if whatever you do doesn't have an undo function, sometimes you can open the delete function, undelete last, and delete what was messed up in the first place. Doesn't always work but its saved me a couple times.

and remember, surfcam is more cam than cad, so sometimes you want to use an outside cad program and import into surfcam.

Cammotion
12-13-2006, 09:17 PM
I've been harping on this one for years. I think there should be a global undo/redo that goes back to the beginning of the session Like Surfcam Solids had.

chmillman
12-14-2006, 03:46 AM
I've been harping on this one for years. I think there should be a global undo/redo that goes back to the beginning of the session Like Surfcam Solids had.

Well, if you haven't saved, just re-open the file without saving. Or always work on a copy of the file.


and remember, surfcam is more cam than cad, so sometimes you want to use an outside cad program and import into surfcam.

Yes. I have gotten used to doing everything that concerns geometry creation or modification outside of Surfcam, so I rarely need an undo. Mostly I use Delete and there is an undo for that... However...

One place Surfcam REALLY needs an undo is in the toolpath editing department. If you are making a series of edits to one toolpath, and you make a mistake at one point (awfully easy to do as the editor is so bad), you are pretty much obliged to quit the editor without saving and start over. Very annoying. --ch

tnik
12-14-2006, 07:20 AM
One place Surfcam REALLY needs an undo is in the toolpath editing department. If you are making a series of edits to one toolpath, and you make a mistake at one point (awfully easy to do as the editor is so bad), you are pretty much obliged to quit the editor without saving and start over. Very annoying. --ch

I personally haven't tackled that monster yet, played around with it a bit and it really didn't look like a fun tool to use ;)

planar39
12-14-2006, 07:34 PM
most of us get burned by this, ive learned to save often when im confident, save under a new name -ex. part1, part2, when im unsure, and when undo isnt there and it was messed up, just go to file-and grab the last good saved part. Photoshop is a fun program thats kind of similar.

mdlmkr
12-18-2006, 12:24 PM
The no undo under the join command is the one that kills me. I know...save and reopen, but if I have imported an iges file and I want to join the million splines that make up a curve, its a pain to keep saving and reopening every time I miss a line. Yes, I know that there are work arounds, but undo would be nice here!

Grifftek
01-08-2007, 04:02 PM
Just wondering if there are any users local to me, im in Downey CA. 90242

Thanks

Bill

lagrandebug
02-10-2007, 08:36 AM
Surfcam does have some what of a undo button. If you do something and you don't like the results then most of the time you can go delete that like or surface and then hit "UNDELETE LAST" hit is once and the one you don't want will come back hit it again sometimes two or three times then go in and erase the result you didn't want and most the time the original will be there under it. Let me know if it worked for you

qmas99
03-04-2007, 07:27 AM
The software costs you more, but it makes you work harder not help you do the work.
:confused:

mam
03-28-2007, 08:57 PM
For Mi Is Extrange ,that Surfcam Dont Put An Undo Buttom

RonnyM82
04-14-2007, 12:40 AM
ok i looked into SurfCAM to program the 5-axis we will be purchasing and having read this post i don't think i will. I wasn't impressed with their website at all anyway, was cold and un-informing, some of the links didn't work and i couldn't find a local supplier in NZ to talk to since the supplier locater wasn't working either. Way too sell a product surfCAM!

drakesis
04-15-2007, 12:24 PM
I guess i'm not the only one that gets pissed at this also.
i've always made a habit of saving after a couple steps, just incase i messed up.

save, click, click, #$%^, reopen, click, click, save, click, click, #$%^!!

mam
04-16-2007, 09:45 PM
Ok ,the habit of saving acouple steps is a god idea.