PDA

View Full Version : Master/Slave X axis side swap - does it matter?



Kosh
11-14-2015, 06:59 PM
I decide to mount my E-track and trays on the right hand side of the X axis, as opposed to the right side which is shown in the instructions no the CNC router parts site.

I did this because it exposes the slots for opening the E-track and makes it easier.

The question is, does it matter which X-axis motor is hooked up a "X" vs "A"? Should X still be on the left, with A on the right, or is it just a matter reversing the settings in Mach3? Thinking that switching them will make them move in the opposite direction from "normal" ?


Thanks.

CRP
11-14-2015, 07:25 PM
does it matter which X-axis motor is hooked up a "X" vs "A"?

Hi Kosh, While you can certainly configure the machine with either X axis being X vs A (Slaved), I recommend staying with the documented convention regardless of where you install the cable trays.

Thanks!

-Nathan

LeeWay
11-14-2015, 08:30 PM
Yeah, you can run into trouble with homing the machine and trouble shooting assistance later on. Maybe even cable issues as below. I ran my slaved wire through the gantry along with the Y+ sensor.

Regarding the cable track though, a small bent wire will pop those holder up. Long small allen wrench too. They snap snug, but pop open easy with just the right leverage.
I can tell you that you will want that echain as close to your control box s you can get it comfortably. Most of the cables are plenty long, but I ran into an issue with the network cable and one of my motor cables was too short for my configuration.
I need 3 20' and one 12' for the PRO 4824.

Kosh
11-14-2015, 08:58 PM
@leeway

Was thinking a paint can opener would work well too

LeeWay
11-14-2015, 10:48 PM
That might do. An angled awl would work or even a lock picking set. Not that I have one of those. ;)

In fact, I have the perfect tool for it. I haven't used it before and it came in some elcheapo set years ago. an angled screw driver.

298012