PDA

View Full Version : CRP500 PRe wired NEMA 23 electronics low voltage on PWM pins



discojon
07-22-2015, 09:34 AM
Greetings,

I finally finished my PRO4848 build and have began testing and run into an issues with the NEMA 23 CRP500 pre wired electronics kit. I am using the single PWM output on the BOB to control Spindle RPM. When requesting full speed (24,000 rpm) the ESS and BOB are only sending 8.8v rather than 10v. Using pulley 4 , 2000 - 24000 rpm. Acceleration is setup as specified by CNCRP. Is there somewhere I should be looking to troubleshoot this? Any ideas on how to output the full 10v?

-Cody

jueston
07-22-2015, 09:57 AM
are you using the CNCRP spindle or one purchased elsewhere?

i just finished my pro4848 assembly and am going to start wiring my 2.2KW chinese spindle. cory gave me a little advice about pins but if you've set it up already i'd appreciate a few pictures of the wireing and setting you've altered so far.

sorry i'm no help as to fixing the problem, but hopefully i can learn from your experiances

discojon
07-22-2015, 10:00 AM
I'm using the 2.2k Chinese spindle and VFD. I'll get you some photos soon. Its pretty easy to hook up actually. I really only had to run one wire from the electronics enclosure to the VFD to control speed.

discojon
07-26-2015, 09:38 AM
I'm not in front of my electronics , but is there there a pot on the BOB CNCRP uses for PWM voltage? For some reason I'm still not getting 10v when Mach 3 is calling for full speed. When 12k rpm (1/2 speed) is called for, I'm only seeing around 7500rpm. I can manually bump rpm up in Mach 3 and it will go up to 22k ish rpm but never the full 24k.

discojon
07-27-2015, 04:05 PM
To answer my own question, no there isn't. Still looking for a solution. I believe Ahren from CNCRP is going to send me a replacement BOB to try.

nlancaster
08-02-2015, 01:42 PM
If you can bump the RPM in Mach3 and get full speed out of the spindle then the BOB is outputing full 10v as it should.

There is a configuration issue somewhere, but I am not sure where it would be.

discojon
08-02-2015, 01:45 PM
The highest I can get when manually bumping it up in mach 3 is about 8.8-9.0v. When controlling it from the vfd I can get full speed. I already changed the breakout board and it didn't help out.


If you can bump the RPM in Mach3 and get full speed out of the spindle then the BOB is outputing full 10v as it should.

There is a configuration issue somewhere, but I am not sure where it would be.

discojon
09-29-2015, 01:25 PM
Still was not able to get this sorted out. The router is working great, other that the variance between the requested speed and actual speed. Is there a way to calibrate spindle speed when using PWM in Mach 3?

ger21
09-29-2015, 01:44 PM
Yes, but only if you have a tachometer on the spindle feeding the rpm back to mach3.

Try deleting your linearity.dat file with mach3 closed.

discojon
09-29-2015, 01:46 PM
Yes, but only if you have a tachometer on the spindle feeding the rpm back to mach3.

Try deleting your linearity.dat file with mach3 closed.

I was under the impression that the linearity.dat file didn't affect the rpm when using the ESS and PWM control?