PDA

View Full Version : What Next!

Cutloose
10-25-2006, 04:49 PM
Ok...after months of looking at different plans, I have started building something of my own. However, keep in mind, I am an extreme newbie who needs lots of help. Hence, my plea for "What Next"

I have attached some pictures of what I have done so far. I'm not trying to build cheap, but I don't need everything to be high end either. I enjoy building....but I'd also like to get the damn thing done so I can use it.

Included with my pictures is a rendering of someone elses CNC which I like and would like to emulate.

Thanks all!

Oldmanandhistoy
10-25-2006, 07:05 PM
Hi,

Just keep copying opps mean emulating it looks good so far.:D
Keep us posted.

John

Cutloose
10-25-2006, 07:25 PM
Hmmmm....should I have the CNC Zone Attorney review my plans for patent infringments.:rolleyes:

I think I should put a X axis lead screw on next, but I'm not sure what to use or how to install/attach it to what I have.

joecnc2006
10-25-2006, 07:41 PM
I would build everything first, get it sliding smoothly (all three axis) then figure the motor, bearings blocks, backlash nuts, leadscrewand etc., placement from that, its easier to adjust brackets, than the whole machine.

joe

Oldmanandhistoy
10-25-2006, 07:47 PM
Please don’t take offence I was only joking.:D

John

Oldmanandhistoy
10-27-2006, 02:57 PM
Hi again,:)

What’s the overall sizes of the frame?

Hope you are going to keep posting I’m watching this thread.

John

Cutloose
10-28-2006, 10:02 AM
I'll keep posting and sending pictures as I go. I was hoping for a little more help than I've gotten so far, I don't mean to sound unappreciative here, but I'm a little out of my area on this one.

The frame is 30x34. No special reason. I just wanted it to be bigh enough to make a sign or project that was 24 inches. I also picked up the 8020 cheap online.

Some questions I have: