PDA

View Full Version : Mentor needed - I fabricate, you teach cnc? L.A. California

runinbymdnt
10-03-2006, 07:25 PM
Hello - I have a small fabrication shop in Northridge Ca. nothing too special, lathe, mill, Tig, Mig and misc. I am going to build a cnc router, then if that goes well and I expect it will, I am going to convert my mill to cnc.

I could use help understanding what happens between my Cad model and the servo motors, if you know what I mean. Yes I have a basic understanding the whole process, but thought it would be cool if someone could coach me in this area.

I would be happy to do some fabrication in trade.

Thanks
JimK

Tinmuk
11-28-2006, 09:31 PM
Hi Jim,

Although I am not an expert in the entire process, I could probably help you with some of the stuff that goes on between the box and the motors. I am in San Fernando.

Robi

runinbymdnt
11-28-2006, 11:02 PM
Hello Robi,

That would be great. I didnt think I would get a response, I posted this quite a while ago. What kind of work do you do? Anything I could help you with?
My name is Jim, Glad to meet you.

Tinmuk
11-28-2006, 11:11 PM
The shop I am at now does components for medical devices. We have 3 Citizen L20's, 2 Haas mini mills, 2 Nakamuras and a Haas VF1. I do have some fab needs, but we could discuss those later.

How would you like to proceed? I could come by your shop and we could talk about CNC stuff there. Or you could come by my shop and see what we've got going. It's up to you.

Robi

runinbymdnt
11-29-2006, 01:03 AM
There is no cnc stuff at my shop, yet, so it might make more sense if I come see your place and see how its realy done. Then if you like, your more than welcome to come to my shop. I have seen cnc machines many times, I just dont fully understand what makes them tic.

Have you heard of or used Mach 3?

I will send my phone # in a private message. Call me anytime and we can plan a visit.

runinbymdnt
12-01-2006, 11:28 PM
Hey Robi