PDA

View Full Version : Having a difficult time getting small A to polish on 3CM silestone/granite

cricex
09-26-2006, 04:09 PM
Hello, new here.. please be gentle.

I've been fabricating Silestone along with natural stone here for a couple years now. I have set up plenty of polish wheels; ceramic, rubber, resin -- the works without any issue other than the obvious learning curve when first starting out.

I have been stumped. I have a dozen polish wheels for a our small A 3cm edge, and I cannot get them to polish worth a damn.

I am unaware of the brand or the grits as they were given to us by a sister company in Maryland. They are white and green, all my other white/green ceramics go green --> white in the process. Where the grits are 1,000 and 3,000 respectively.

When running it, the end product is indeed rougher then what the last diamond wheel does. I have been screwing with it for days and I cannot figure it out. The acrylic in the silestone is white and burned while the quartz is rough.

I called our AGM Intermac tech and he was confused as well, we attempted to change the static and adaptive radial settings thinking it was a comepnsation issue. We have thus far seen no difference other than the amount the tool wears down and the amperage (read: same polish results).

i am confused.

ViperTX
09-29-2006, 06:04 PM
Are you dry polishing these? Almost sounds like it's getting too hot, but then you mention that you don't know anything about these dozen polish wheels you have....so, I would find out about them first.

howie
10-13-2006, 07:17 PM
Hi there may be that problem that you have is because the polish are sitting too hard the best polishers are vincent

hotrodcnc
11-04-2006, 07:05 PM
slow down the rpms on sec white

IceBlue91z28
12-27-2006, 07:14 PM
only use the white (or gray) wheels to polish that stuff. The green one ruins the finish.

newstoneman
01-05-2007, 12:36 PM