PDA

View Full Version : My 1st CNC Router (SK1)

jb2060
09-22-2006, 08:00 AM
Hi,

After many, many months of reading and studying cnczone I have finally started my project. I have also had a significant amount of guidance from Rodm1954. Rod is passionate about CNC and his machines are outstanding.

I have nicknamed my CNC Router - SK1. I am an amateur guitar maker who is looking to take some of the grunt work out of carving bodies and necks. What started out as a curious interest in the possibilities of CNC has turned into a hobby in itself. I am sure I am not the only one this has happened to!!

So far I have built the base frame and painted it. The dimensions are x=1010mm, y=450mm and z=250mm. I chose this size to accommodate the width of a guitar body and the length of the neck.

Here are some photos of my progress to date:

epineh
09-22-2006, 09:27 AM
What started out as a curious interest in the possibilities of CNC has turned into a hobby in itself. I am sure I am not the only one this has happened to!!

Lol no I don't think you are the only one, it was fishing lures for me, now I am planning my 2nd and 3rd machine even though I haven't finished my first yet...

You could do some pretty cool stuff on guitar bodies with CNC, I would like to have a crack at it myself, though I can't play for s#%t

Your machine is lookin good so far, keep the pics comin!!!

Russell.

bryanrabb
09-22-2006, 09:30 AM
Nice work so far. I bet that thing is not easy to lug around. Smart move to use quality componets so far on your first build. It makes things easier and will reduce frustration as you learn.

jb2060
09-22-2006, 09:41 AM
Thanks for your comments guys.

I actually weighed it yesterday and it is 30kg already! I have got to get myself a strong table to support it! I estimate that there will be another 15kg with the gantry.

Juka
09-22-2006, 10:09 AM
Look very nice! How you move that x-axis? ballscrew in the midle of or...?

ViperTX
09-22-2006, 11:42 AM