PDA

View Full Version : Mentor needed, Memphis area

Shorty
09-13-2006, 05:53 PM
I am looking for someone in the Memphis area to help me learn about machining. I have extensive woodworking experience but know nothing about machining metals.

speedofsound
09-13-2006, 06:38 PM
Well, I'm not anywhere near the "mentor" status, but I am in the Memphis area and share your interests.

I started a small business with a friend in 2003, and we got our first CNC mill (a desktop/mini mill) in 1/05. It's been an interesting learning curve, as we started from zero in terms of knowledge. Lots of trial, with even more error! haha

Anyway, we just purchased a toolroom mill and will have a "real" machine to continue learning. I'd be happy to share what information I can if it would help.

Alan

tiger
09-14-2006, 11:06 PM
I'm not a mentor either, but learning. I'm glad to hear that there are other people in the Memphis area. I'm currently working on getting my shoptask machine converted to cnc.

speedofsound
09-15-2006, 09:47 AM
I'm not a mentor either, but learning. I'm glad to hear that there are other people in the Memphis area. I'm currently working on getting my shoptask machine converted to cnc.

I've befriended a few machinists around town, and have learned a good bit from them. I pick up a lot by watching and listening, and being able to observe some experienced CNC operators has been a benefit.

Again, I'd be happy to help you guys out if I'm able.

Alan

xscsime
09-19-2006, 11:47 AM
I would also like to talk to some of you guys in the Memphis area. I would also like to find someone who uses Bobcad and might give me some pointers.

Rick Kelley

Bartlett

speedofsound
09-19-2006, 08:04 PM
I would also like to talk to some of you guys in the Memphis area. I would also like to find someone who uses Bobcad and might give me some pointers.

Rick Kelley

Bartlett

Rick,