PDA

View Full Version : What's the right amount of dust collection?



TerribleDamage
09-11-2014, 07:16 PM
Hey all. I've put the finishing touches on my CRP4848 and I'm almost ready to cut....but I still need to buy a dust collector. I have the meanwell 1KW power supply for the nema34 motors....has anyone ever had a problem running a dust collector on the same circuit? I've turned on and used my shopvac a few times with the router on, and haven't had any problems. How much dust collection is enough? The two collectors I'm juggling between is a woodtek 250crm (5A, 120v) or a woodtek 380cfm (1hp). I get that 380cfm is a substantial increase, but is 250cfm good enough?

Has anyone measured how much power the 1KW supply actually draws when all 4 motors are running, set to the max of 7 amps? I would measure myself, but my killawatt meter broke a year ago.

Thanks!

ger21
09-11-2014, 07:26 PM
600cfm minimum, 1200+ cfm preferable.

My 1hp Craftsman is adequate when the bag is empty, but it's not very good when the bag is half full.
My 2HP Harbor Freight is much, much better.

vtx1029
09-12-2014, 11:54 AM
I ran my crp 4848 with the G540 nema 23 package on the same circuit with my harbor freight dust collector with no problems.

TerribleDamage
09-12-2014, 02:19 PM
Thanks. What power dust collector do you have?

vtx1029
09-16-2014, 06:54 AM
Thanks. What power dust collector do you have?
2hp one