PDA

View Full Version : How do i properly grease my machine

cncvirgin
08-15-2014, 11:22 AM
hello,

i apologise in advance if this seems like a stupid beginners question but i'm not an engineer and am trying to service an industrial machine for the first time :rolleyes:

the machine in question is an old 3-axis from the end of the 80s. The machine hasn't been serviced in over 10 years. I've been using it for the last two years a couple of days per week, a couple of hours per day.

It seems to me to be a good idea to apply some grease to the axes but to be honest i don't know if that's really a good idea, and if yes how to go about it and how much to put where.
I bought some ball bearing grease.

Here is the X-axis:

here's the mobile part of the X-axis:

http://s26.postimg.org/559sxhdy1/chariot_X.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

when i touch the steel rods and the black screw they seem completely dry. The bit of old grease accumulated on the left of the picture seems very sticky. Should i put some new grease on rods and screw and if yes how much and where ? Should i clean them first and if yes with what ? Is ball-bearing grease ok ?

thx in advance for any help with this :p

PS: more pictures of the machine here: https://plus.google.com/photos/114245367403721121805/albums/6047508307177950369

wendtmk
08-16-2014, 12:00 PM
You don't say the manufacturer of the machine. Get the owner's manual for the machine, and do what it tells you for lube and maintenance.

Al_The_Man
08-16-2014, 01:03 PM
If they are sealed bearings (usually are) then there is not much to do for them, for ball screws and sliding surfaces, one of the best lubes is WayLube oil, Vactra 2 etc.
Al.

squickmonsMW
08-16-2014, 02:02 PM
Are there any grease zerks? if not most likely you will have to remove the linear bearings from the rails and hand grease them. but i would imagine there is a grease point where you can apply the grease at

cncvirgin
08-16-2014, 02:58 PM