PDA

View Full Version : My Router Progress

GRS
08-07-2006, 02:02 PM
Hi All,
I am new to cnc zone, my first post, been reading for a while.
I am building a router based on another members machine.
He is helping me with another group of guys and along with this forum I have progressed some.
My machine is steel based and has an aluminium gantry I bought linear rails and bearings for X and Y, and I got a complete Z axis . All off ebay.
I also have Ballscrews and nuts on the way for the movements. I am using
nema23 260oz stepper motors.
I must point out that I don't know a thing about the electrics or computing side of things but am looking forward to the learning process.
Some progress photo's

Gary

epineh
08-08-2006, 08:23 AM
Nice work Gary, keep the pics comin.

Russell.

Jason Marsha
08-08-2006, 06:10 PM
That router looks really good.

Jason

GRS
08-09-2006, 01:40 AM
Thanks for the comments

I have now fitted the Y linear slide bearings.

I am having a lot of fun so far with this build, I was told it is an addictive hobby, and they're right.

Gary

Greolt
08-09-2006, 02:01 AM
Looking good Gary :cheers:

GRS
08-14-2006, 01:38 PM
Have the Z axis on the Y slide bearings now
Getting there bit by bit

Gary

GRS
08-14-2006, 05:27 PM
I thought people might like a look at what I will be doing with my machine once it's up and running.
A hobby of mine which has grown a bit is making decorative boxes using old farm implement parts . They hare cast Iron and have the makers names and details on them, I paint them up and highlight the lettering then make a design
which complements the makers or the person who I am making it for.
Currently I do all this by hand improvising by clamping a fence to work off for strait lines and then freehand for the rest. It usually takes me a week or so to complete just the routing so I will be a happy man when my machine is up and running.
Cheers
Gary

kosymailman
08-15-2006, 12:21 AM