PDA

View Full Version : DIY phase converter?



wyobmf
07-25-2006, 04:36 PM
Hello,
Has anyone built a rotary phase converter by using a small single phase motor to get a large 3 phase motor up to speed on single phase then using the extra leg to supply the third leg of your 3 phase power?
Like in this article:
http://www.team.net/www/shop-talk/hm3phase.html
Thanks

Al_The_Man
07-25-2006, 05:14 PM
Why would you use the extra expense of the 1ph motor, when you can do it with a starting cap?
If you search here, there is a few posts on RPC's.
Al.

Karl_T
07-25-2006, 05:19 PM
here's a bunch of info:
http://www.metalwebnews.com/electric.html

I've got three units running on my place. Largest one is 35 horse.

Karl

wyobmf
07-25-2006, 05:43 PM
Well for me I have a supply of motors avaidable to me for free, single and 3 phase. I don't have any caps or know where to get them.
That is my only reason.
Thanks

Al_The_Man
07-25-2006, 07:51 PM
For starting, you need 'Motor Starting Grade' ( the ones left in for tuning are Motor Run type).
These can usually be obtained from Electronic Supppliers catalogues or Local motor rewinders etc.
Al.

wyobmf
07-26-2006, 08:44 AM
Right on, I found a 10 horse 3 phase motor and a 2200 uF capacitor rated for 460 V, I thought I was covered but it sounds like I have the wrong type of capacitor. I will do some searching.
Thanks

RMARCH
07-26-2006, 12:49 PM
Hey wyobmf , Here is a website that you can buy anyting you need to build you phase converter.
http://www.americanrotary.com/home.php

They were very helpful when i was having problems with my rotary phase converter . They sold me capacitors and instructed me how to fix it.

Good Luck !!!

Al_The_Man
07-26-2006, 04:23 PM
Right on, I found a 10 horse 3 phase motor and a 2200 uF capacitor rated for 460 V, I thought I was covered but it sounds like I have the wrong type of capacitor. I will do some searching.


Yes. Whatever you do don't use an Electrolytic, Unless you want to emulate a suicide bomber :nono:
Al.

wyobmf
07-26-2006, 05:14 PM
What about this one http://www.capacitorindustries.com/cd60B.htm
It says it is Electrolytic motor starting.
I decieded to go with a 5 hp motor.

Al_The_Man
07-26-2006, 05:37 PM
My error, I should have added polarized electrolytic, these are non-polarized.
Al.

What about this one http://www.capacitorindustries.com/cd60B.htm
It says it is Electrolytic motor starting.
I decieded to go with a 5 hp motor.