PDA

View Full Version : G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero



Menatep
05-02-2014, 03:37 AM
Does anyone use Geckodrive G-Rex G100 with Mach 3 (2010 screenset or regular) and have a WORKING auto tool zero macro?

My touch plate probe is set up on pin 15.

Here's the 889 macro...
Message( "Auto Zeroing..." )
If IsSuchSignal (22) Then
code "G31 Z-3 F20" // Moves probe down 3 inches
While IsMoving()
Wend
Call SetDRO( 2, 0.625 ) // sets z to zero assuming plate thickness is 0.625"
code "G1 Z1.0" // Retracts Z 1 inch.
End If


Problem is.... this macro works perfectly only ONCE. Second time it retracts way more than 1 inch and eventually hits the limit switch on the Z axis.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Or should we conclude that Grex G100 auto tool zero macro will never work with mach3?

ger21
05-02-2014, 07:52 AM
It looks like you modified my M889 macro? By chance are you in G91 mode when it crashes. The default M889 macro has code to prevent it from crashing into the switch, provided you home the Z axis first. Not sure how much of the original macro you're using, if any?

It's also possible that the G100 doesn't support G31 properly. If that's the case, you may not be able to get any macro to work.

Menatep
05-02-2014, 03:19 PM
Hi Gerry,

My "distance mode" is set to Absolute (G90) and my IJ mode is set to INC (G91.1).

I am trying out a macro from cncrouterparts. I tried using your macro that came with the screenset and it resulted in same problems. Basically any macro I try has same problem. First touch down is fine. Second touch down immediately after results in Z axis moving up way too much.

Any ideas what I can do? Mach 3 version is 3.043.066

Is it possible that this is an issue that has never been solved with mach3 and grex?

ger21
05-02-2014, 04:22 PM
Grex support in Mach3 was never finished and Mach3 support for it was abandoned many years ago.
Keep in mind that motion controller plugins can be sensitive to different versions of mach3.
The only thing you can try would be an old version of Mach3, from when the Grex plugin was written. I doubt it will work, though.
Your only other option would be a different motion controller.

Menatep
05-02-2014, 05:13 PM
Gerry, that's what I'm thinking.... although i'm happy with GREX G100 and it's awesome, i do notice that it is a pain to run with Mach3 and some things don't work. I'm not able to do auto-tool zero and reffing all axes at the same doesn't work. I have to ref X, Y, Z individually.

What other controllers are good out there with a lot of support?

I'd like to use an ethernet port so i guess Ethernet SmoothStepper is my only choice, right?