PDA

View Full Version : Build a cheap, SIMPLE, CnC foam cutter.

moreil
06-22-2006, 12:02 AM
I've just started building my CNC foam cutter.

Step-by-step progress is being recorded at http://www.homecnc.org/index.php/Cheap_Foam_Cutter

My objective here is to build a fairly cheap machine that's buildable with the tools I have (meaning, no drill press, no lathe :) )

Hopefully, the page above will be useable as a step-by-step guide for easily building a cutter.

My background is in software, so this real world stuff is a bit of novelty at the moment :)

I have all the electronics, and have cut the wood so the next step is to start assembly....

My cost to date is around $USD330, most of which is the stepper controller board.

Many pictures at the wiki page above.

moreil
06-23-2006, 02:31 AM
Fully finished building one frame (didn't have enough Al tubing to do the other one end).

Now just need to add the motors and it will be working! yay!

http://www.homecnc.org/images/4/42/Med-2006-06-23-IMG_9682.JPG

moreil
06-23-2006, 03:24 AM
dup

moreil
06-23-2006, 04:26 AM
My M8 threaded rod is galvanised (or corroded). Which makes it too thick for my M8 nuts.

I started re-threaded it with a hand die, but it's hard going (it's removing quite a bit of metal) and the thought of re-threading 2000mm of rod isn't much fun.

Anyone know of a good supplier of metalwork materials in Sydney, Australia? That's open on a saturday morning...?

fkaCarel
06-23-2006, 05:14 AM
Try stainless rod (304). Cost a little more, but there is no galvanising, nor will there be corrosion.

Carel

moreil
06-23-2006, 05:30 AM
Sounds like a good idea. I've found a metal supplier that's open on a saturday, so here's hoping they've got M8 threaded rod.

I'm currently using 12mm Al tubing for the rails. I think I might replace that with 12mm stainless steel if I can. (Assuming that the metal suppler will cut it for me. No way am I going to try cutting stainless steel by hand :)

fkaCarel