PDA

View Full Version : Controller board location



smitty
03-27-2003, 09:53 AM
Just found this site, and it looks great.
I am in the process of installing CNC to my little sherlines, and was looking for a box to install my power supply and controller board. Has anybody put all that EXTRA gear into the computer they will be using? I have done a trial fit of all the parts, and i have the room, but was unsure if I will have bad effects with all the extra wiring and feedback from the processor and harddrive.
Thanks
Smitty

cncadmin
03-27-2003, 10:07 AM
I would think it would be OK, just make sure you have enough cooling.

smitty
03-27-2003, 10:14 AM
Thank you very much. Its worth the try anyway.
I will post my findings when all is said and done.
Smitty

cncadmin
03-27-2003, 10:16 AM
It's a good sulution, if space is a problem, what drivers are you using?

smitty
03-27-2003, 01:55 PM
I just recieved the drivers from Xylotex, and the power supply kit as well. It looks like I will have plenty of room, and if this works, that will be one less box on my bench!
I will post some pics when I have this little project finished.
Smitty

smitty
04-01-2003, 12:45 AM
Well, Finally got the machine finished! Dave from TurboCNC was kind enough to drive down to assit in the final setup of all the important issues, as I was very unsure as to how to set up the PC.
I almost forgot how much fun these where, forgot how to program CNC, been about 10 years since I was in school for this.
If I knew how to post pictures to this board, I would be happy to share my setup.
Anybody know of any good books on CNC programming?
Smitty

WOODKNACK
04-01-2003, 09:09 AM
Try this for a programming book. I think its a little steep but there isnt much out there That I see.
http://www.betatechnical.com/

cncadmin
04-01-2003, 09:33 AM
Originally posted by smitty
If I knew how to post pictures to this board, I would be happy to share my setup.
Smitty

http://cnczone.com/misc.php?s=&action=faq&page=3#attachments

smitty
04-01-2003, 06:33 PM
let's see if I can post a picture...
This is the case without any of the drivers mounted yet.

cncadmin
04-01-2003, 06:42 PM
That is one BIG case!

smitty
04-01-2003, 06:56 PM
Not really, just your standard tower PC case.
My other pictures are to big, over the limit, how can I resize them so I may post them.
Thanks

cncadmin
04-01-2003, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by smitty
Not really, just your standard tower PC case.
My other pictures are to big, over the limit, how can I resize them so I may post them.
Thanks
http://cnczone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=210

smitty
04-02-2003, 11:40 PM
Even with the new program, they are still to big. Must be the end user, never said I was good at the Computer!
Anyway, it is nice and compact, plenty of air flow over the heatsinks, and a little more room on the bench.
Just finished my first program, very simple, but ran without a hitch, so now I am hooked for sure!