PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newb Looking for guidance

wrenchdoctor
12-30-2013, 03:58 PM
Greetings folks.

I am hoping you can help me gain some understanding and knowledge with something at work that I have been increasingly involved with troubleshooting. Here is the backstory :)

I work at a packaging company as as the IT tech.I have a maintenance background, and they ask me to help with most anything that has no "person" to deal with. Some days its locating replacement parts for a 50 year old machine, and some days its hanging/wiring lighting. Whatever is needed, I generally take care of and welcome the challenge of the day. One of the areas that I have been asked to help out in is of the CNC router we have. There were a couple electrical problems with it when I started, that I was able to repair and get the machine functional again, and in the process I couldn't help but notice the ignorance of the operator/s. Nobody really knows the machine, they follow some printout that someone arbitrarily made and that is how they run everything.

The machine in question is an AXYZ 5010. They employ a designer who makes the design on a CAD program, exports the design to Router Type 3 CAM software, where it is "cleaned up" and exported to the CNC machine as an NC file. Somewhere along the way, between designers leaving, operators moving on, all of the training has been lost and there is only the bare minimum of knowledge. All of the work thus far is usually on 3/4" CDX, untreated 2x4, and 2x6. The designs are very simple, as they are generally cradling a part or piece inside a crate. One that comes to mind is a 3ft 2x4 with 8 round holes cut right up the center.