PDA

View Full Version : Changed computers... now fubar



thasatelliteguy
10-23-2013, 08:36 AM
I changed to a better computer, and now on MACH3, I cannot get it to smooth out and run the motors. I have screwed with EVERY SETTING. I have copied the files in from the old one. Nothing helps. And to boot, it looks like mach3 is just moving slow as well... by .001. I dont have it set that way.... at least I dont THINK I do. Anybody know what the heck I'm missing?

br1
10-23-2013, 10:16 AM
Provided you moved everything over properly you should have a backup xml file that has the date with the settings you last used before the move, look for that. Your xml will be in your Mach3 folder.

ger21
10-23-2013, 11:35 AM
Run Drivertest.exe in the Mach3 folder and see if you get a straight, flat line.

thasatelliteguy
10-23-2013, 10:22 PM
I am convinced it's the computer. I hooked the old one back up and it works perfect. Then I sat them side by side and checked every setting on every page and it was identical. machine 1 works perfect. Machine 2 makes the motors sound like they are having seizures. Could it be a crappy board? OS? Is it even something I should fight with, or try one of the other machines I have layin around...

thasatelliteguy
10-23-2013, 10:34 PM
Run Drivertest.exe in the Mach3 folder and see if you get a straight, flat line.

It had a flat line for a second. This is the first time the driver test has seemed to do something useful. It then changed around a lot and said system excellent? Now I was playing with the Y axis, and it appears to be working... sort of. It still sounds horrible, but it sounds horribly EVEN. And the counter is matching the movement, its just going REALLY slow. .010/sec

thasatelliteguy
10-24-2013, 02:05 AM
Yep computer. Took another look at the one I WANTED to use and realized that the processor fan was loose. I thought it had finally given up the ghost, but alas, it lives once again. And it drives the machine perfectly. Better than any other computer so far...Faster, smoother, better than it was b4.... lol

ger21
10-24-2013, 08:39 AM
The "System Excellent" message in Driver Test, is really quite useless. The flatness of the line and stability of the pulse rate are the critical things to look at.
Most likely, there are changes you can make to the Bios and OS to get it working well.