PDA

View Full Version : Sheetcam -- Performance with Win98 SE?



CJL5585
04-05-2006, 10:22 AM
How does Sheetcam perform under Win98 SE?

I bought a new laptop and erased the WinXP OS and re-loaded with Win98 SE. :)

The reason I went with Win98 guys (I know some will scream) was because my Autocad is Version 12 which runs under DOS, and I am not buying a new package.

I am also using a DOS based system to run my CNC router. I was planning on having a total package on the laptop.

Jerry

carlnpa
04-05-2006, 11:29 AM
Sheetcam ran fine on my 98SE machine (at least till I upgraded to 2K Pro).
Carl

ger21
04-05-2006, 11:54 AM
I bought a new laptop and erased the WinXP OS and re-loaded with Win98 SE. :)


:eek:












;)

phillby
04-05-2006, 07:30 PM
Try Progecad it will run on XP and will be free. From

http://www.progecad.com/

I think you will find it much more user friendly than ACad 12 especially if it is the Dos Version.

Cheers

CJL5585
04-06-2006, 12:52 AM
Brian,

Thanks for the link. I downloaded the latest 2006 version and cannot believe that it is free. It appears to be part TurboCad, and part AutoCad. It appears that it will be easy to use.

Again thanks a million,
Jerry

locost_cam
04-06-2006, 03:52 AM
How does Sheetcam perform under Win98 SE?


On some machines SheetCam will crash when you close it. You won't lose your drawing or anything, you just get an annoying error message. I have been unable to fix the problem because it works fine on every WIn98 machine I have tested it on...

Les

CJL5585
04-06-2006, 10:02 AM
Les,

Appreciate the feedback. I figured SheetCam would work just fine, but one never can tell about some of these Operating Systems with all the patches for security.

Jerry