PDA

View Full Version : Mach(X) on Multiple Monitors, Etc.

vacpress
03-24-2006, 03:52 AM
Hello.

My surfing uncovered something of potential interest to everyone.. Check this link out:

http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2005/10/18/matrix_orbital_mx6/1.html

I have been planning a very nice PC based CNC controller hardware enclosure.. IDEC switches, encoder job wheel, IDEC E-stop, keyboard emulator and membrane switch(inkjet printed onto transparency sheet and RS485, LCD screen(possibly touch), nice stylish case...

I am an industrial designer, so this sort of project where I can create a stylish yet working sophisticated device is appealing.

Questions.. Are either the idea of an RS232 powered screen, or a 2nd-monitor made of a small 640x480 screen usefull to mach3? would using those system monitor programs mentioned be of any benefit to mach(x)?

could the 5-7" TFT be configured to show a seperate xyzab... DRO type display? Could the rs232 device display things like 'Gcode program running, Spindle on' etc etc'?

Anyone?

vacpress
03-24-2006, 05:45 PM
noone knows?

noone has even tried extending their mach setup onto 2 screens?

Let me simplify this question: In mach, are all the popups and views contained within the main program window, or can dialog boxes be dragged outside that border?

ger21
03-24-2006, 06:13 PM
There's only one "dialog" box or window. The jog screen. It can be stretched over the main screen, but not moved. It's hidden with the Tab key. Mach3 is different from most windows programs. The screen will not "fit to" smaller screens. Screens are designed at a fixed resolution. If Mach3's not maximized, stretching the window smaller will actually hide the screen. It can be set to enlarge the screen if using a higher res than the screen was designed at.