PDA

View Full Version : Second Machine Started

Rodm1954
03-10-2006, 05:48 AM
I have just finished the first machine and have already started on the second. I have been collecting bits for the second and third machines for quite a few months now so at least I won't be waiting on parts. I started cutting the steel base last weekend and hope to make more progress this weekend.

I will build the strengths of the last machine into this one and look at ways of improving some of the weaker areas as well. It will be a steel base with aluminum gantry and all the rails will be commercial products rather than do it yourself. The time and cost of fabricating your own linear rails is not worth it for me. I also feel that no matter how much effort you put into making your own they are likely to be of less quality than commercial rails.

Well that out of the way I thought I would kick this thread off with a photo of my first router and then one of the rails and ballscrew I have purchased for the second machine.

As happened on the first machine I do not have drawings and apart from a concept in my head this thing will evolve as I go so it should be interesting to see the end result. I don't seem to have the patience for drawing but can tinker out in the shed for hours so I figure I may as well do something I enjoy. :)

Rodm1954
04-30-2006, 08:14 AM
After my first post things stopped for various reasons but this weekend Nobott commenced in earnest. Totally changed my ideas over the last six weeks and have settled on a 400mm by 400mm by 100mm cutting envelope. The reason for the smaller machine is that it will take up less room and be easier to enclose in a soundproof vacuum cabinet.
This photo shows the steel base with the X axis ballscrew assembly fitted. The Y axis assembly is sitting on the temporary table and the linear rail will be fixed on the sides of this unit.
The sides have been extended above the table to protect the linear rails from sawdust and swarf.