PDA

View Full Version : Surfacing and planing with MadCAM

John Coloccia
03-14-2013, 12:44 PM
I have a spoilboard bit from Amana that I'd like to use for surfacing my table and also for facing parts and things like that. It can't be plunged. It has to ramp something like 1/4" over 20" (not sure if that number is exactly right, but the important part is there's a ramp and no plunge). Is there a simple way to do this in MadCAM? I'm sure this is a dumb question, but I'm still pretty new to the CAM world, so bear with me :)

svenakela
03-14-2013, 04:03 PM
All 3D-methods have Radius lead and Ramp approach options. You can even do a facing operation with the 2D features, like Facing. Pocketing actually works better for you. they both have a Ramp approach but the Facing command has a radius in that automatically sets the angle of attack. All other commands you simply set the angle for the Ramp approach yourself.

John Coloccia
03-14-2013, 04:17 PM
All 3D-methods have Radius lead and Ramp approach options. You can even do a facing operation with the 2D features, like Facing. Pocketing actually works better for you. they both have a Ramp approach but the Facing command has a radius in that automatically sets the angle of attack. All other commands you simply set the angle for the Ramp approach yourself.

I've been trying all of this. Nothing seems to work. In 5.0, Radius seems to have no effect (there's no ramp setting), and when I put in the appropriate value for ramp in pocketing, it simply plunges. I think the ramp takes it beyond the extents of the box I made, but I would have expected it to do a helical ramp, or something like that...not plunge.