PDA

View Full Version : Planar Finishing - Mills where nothing is to



Zuckerbäcker
03-06-2013, 10:56 AM
Hello,

attached some pics, from Planar finishing parameters and result preview.
MadCam makes milling paths where nothing is to mill, and also outside the box.
Looks like Contouring strategy failes, but why?
179240179241

Tried also Strategie "Along X". This is better, but won´t work too.

179243

I don´t understand it, please give me some help.

svenakela
03-06-2013, 11:20 AM
Too small images. I don't see much...

wdaehn
03-06-2013, 12:20 PM
...and highlight where the excess milling does happen and why you feel it is not needed.
For an example I had, the solution was to check the "stop at parting line" in your dialog to skip areas that don't need milling. What was the example? I believe I milled a ring shape and it did mill the entire inner area so basically hover over the vaccum table. "Stop at parting line" or using the clipping was the solution.

Zuckerbäcker
03-08-2013, 03:44 PM
179423
179424
Hello, some bigger pics of Planar Finishing.
Stop at Parting Line does the same.

williamsmotower
03-08-2013, 05:53 PM
your drawing looks too big for Rhino template.

Also select include cutter radius in boundary box.

svenakela
03-08-2013, 06:53 PM
your drawing looks too big for Rhino template.

Also select include cutter radius in boundary box.

You can design commuter buses with the small object template, it is not likely a problem.
Zuckerbäcker, I sent you a PM with my e-mail adress. Could you send the model to me?

Zuckerbäcker
03-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Hello, thanks for your answers.

I also think template size has nothing to do with it.
Where should i include the cutter radius? in which boundary box do you mean?

Sven, it would be cool if you can help me. Due to the size, i upload it to Dropbox.
Here is the link to 2 files on my Dropbox account:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7kugim9al3teycn/pg12nmbW64

in some minutes it will be uploaded.
in File V4 i changed the milling tool, now the whole top would be milled, where nothing is to,
and on the side, there are also some milling paths which i can´t explane for what they should be.

svenakela
03-09-2013, 04:50 AM
Congrats Zuckerbäcker, you've found a defect. :)
I have taken it to Joakim and it's verified that there seems to be a problem with contouring and the angles set in the model, the surface vectors aren't found as expected because they are too close to the boundary. I promised to say thanks for the find on his behalf.

You can run your part like this instead.
Create workbox (the green wireframe), go to toolbar function Create Box->Create Box and click the button Enlarge By Cutter.
OR you do it this way:
Planar Finishing, set the angle limit to 45 degrees and use contouring.
Z-level, set angle limit to 48 degrees to get an overlap and use Direction Optimized.
This is actually a better (prefered) way to make the model.
The way you did it should be OK though, of course.

Zuckerbäcker
03-10-2013, 02:47 PM
Thank you.
So i did it a little bit different.
I made a stock model, where only the parts are in, where i want MadCam to mill, that worked for me in this case.