PDA

View Full Version : Rhino 5, MadCAM

rdjay
01-05-2013, 01:06 PM
I'm pretty new to the whole CAD and CAM thing so sorry for the questions.

I just purchased Rhino 5 and madCAM, thinking they will work together. I installed Rhino and then downloaded the beta madCAM 5 and installed it. Everything seemed to be ok until I went to process g code and it crashes Rhino. I'm running Vista, 32 bit if that matters.

So I thought I'd try the 4.3 madCAM. Uninstalled 5 and installed the 4.3. It seemed to install ok. I open Rhino and it gives me the dialog like it's installing but when Rhino opens there isn't any toolbar for madCAM either showing or on the toolbar list.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks, Rdjay

svenakela
01-05-2013, 02:17 PM
4.3 is not for Rhino 5.
There are some issues reported with different plugins in 32 bit Vista (Google it). Do you get any stack trace? If so, e-mail it to MadCAM.

rdjay
01-05-2013, 03:56 PM
Hmmm, don't know what a "stack trace" is or if I got one.....

Did a complete uninstall of Rhino 5 and MadCAM. Re-booted the computer, the re-installed Rhino 5 and MadCAM 4.3.

Same issue. When I start Rhino it gives me the messages that it's installing a plug in, then I put my key into MadCAM, everything looks right except no toolbar comes up or shows on the toolbar menu. Re-starting Rhino, same still no toolbar.

Stumped I am....

RdJay

OCNC
01-05-2013, 04:19 PM
Hmmm, don't know what a "stack trace" is or if I got one.....

Did a complete uninstall of Rhino 5 and MadCAM. Re-booted the computer, the re-installed Rhino 5 and MadCAM 4.3.

Same issue. When I start Rhino it gives me the messages that it's installing a plug in, then I put my key into MadCAM, everything looks right except no toolbar comes up or shows on the toolbar menu. Re-starting Rhino, same still no toolbar.

Stumped I am....

RdJay

Rhino 4 and MadCam 4.3 are compatible. Rhino 5 and MadCam 4.3 are not ever compatible.

Chris

rdjay
01-05-2013, 05:41 PM