PDA

View Full Version : DIY aluminium and extrusion build BIG MACHINE

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 04:19 PM
Hello everyone, after a long time searching and reading through many CNC forums online I decided to start my build in late spring this year. And I've been a bit busy getting the machine together. I am by no means an engineer or qualified in any subject, I can just put my mind to something and try to make the best of things. I'm not far from getting this machine moving now but before I do so I just wanted to ask the members on this forum for some suggestions advice or help. Any input is appreciated, I don't mind honest opinions and thoughts even if they sound harsh.

Many thanks. Here is a quick photo attached.

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 04:27 PM
And I forgot to ask the questions! Lol

Does anybody have any criticism towards the way this machine has been built? Does anybody see any failure points with regards to the way my carriages are built for the Y/A movement as well as the X axis movement.

Do my gear and rack placement require adjustment? I can adjust the racks so I have full engagement or adjust to leave upto 0.6mm gap between gear and rack.
I will start off by just routing aluminium composite for signage, wood and eventually later in next year metal also.

Gearboxes have a 3:1 ratio
I'm using the eding CNC controller, leadshine drivers, breakout board.
All the aluminium plates are 20mm and the base plate for the Y/A carriages are 25mm

Any more information required? Just ask.

Thank you in advance.

Usman

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 04:29 PM
Another pic

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 04:54 PM
Another pic

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 06:32 PM
Anyone out there? Lol
Here's another pic

I need lots of input!

Usmanali
12-20-2012, 07:07 PM
Time for another pic!

ger21
12-20-2012, 07:10 PM
Do my gear and rack placement require adjustment? I can adjust the racks so I have full engagement or adjust to leave up to 0.6mm gap between gear and rack.