PDA

View Full Version : Problem NiChrome Diameter for my machine?



samsagaz
10-29-2012, 04:52 PM
Hey guys, i want to know if exist some kind of formule to know wich are the best hot wire diameter for large machines.

The machine that im building is to cut 2mt length 30kg/m3 foam. I want to know wich is the right diameter for long life of the wire.

Thanks in advance.

samsagaz
10-29-2012, 06:57 PM
i found at store in my country

Ø 1.30mm u$s 2.15 + 21% Tax
Ø 1.50mm u$s 2.90 + 21% Tax
Ø 1.80mm u$s 4.15 + 21% Tax

RCWorks.com
11-24-2012, 03:50 PM
Hey guys, i want to know if exist some kind of formule to know wich are the best hot wire diameter for large machines.

The machine that im building is to cut 2mt length 30kg/m3 foam. I want to know wich is the right diameter for long life of the wire.

Thanks in advance.

I cut parts for $$$ I used to used a controller that offered heat control and never used the heat control portion... I use either a triac or a variac and use A-C on the cutting wire... I have used 22 to 26 ga wires... the thinner the wire the less amp draw BUT to get heat you have to raise the volts...

With thicker wire you get more amp draw but the voltage required is less...

On the thicker wire at 1mm per second I use 9.5 volts over 53 inches on a 5 amp transformer with a traic.

The power supply and control cost under $50 the transformer used is a 24 volt center tap.