PDA

View Full Version : SST relay question?



paulo11
10-07-2012, 05:35 AM
I have a Solid state relay that I want to use with my Gecko G540 to activate my router. The problem is the Relay has a 3-32VDC input and the Gecko output to the relay is 48VDC. Can I use this relay as is or must I step down the voltage somehow to 32vdc?

john-100
10-07-2012, 06:53 AM
Hi paulo11 ,

the G540 outputs don't output any power !
they only can pass current from the solid state relay negative input terminal to the ground terminal 12

FET transistors inside of the G540 is used as switches
to connect the output terminals 5 and 6 to the common power supply ground terminal 12

I'd expect your solid state relay needs an input current of 20mA at the most
and you could use a small low power adaptor to provide the positive supply to the relays positive input terminal

the negative supply terminal being connected to the G540's terminal 12

( any thing from +4.5V to + 12V @ 100ma to 300mA plug in adaptor will do)


John

Fastest1
10-07-2012, 09:07 AM
IIRC, SST relays also won't work if the load is not connected.

Al_The_Man
10-07-2012, 11:10 AM
IIRC, SST relays also won't work if the load is not connected.

If the load is not connected it does not matter then?
The input still switches as they are generally a Opto/Triac trigger circuit, the output is a Triac.
Al.