PDA

View Full Version : Xzerocnc Viper X2 - 40x48 - DiaLFonZo-Copter Shop



DiaLFonZo
07-01-2012, 10:18 AM
Hi All,

Just want to share my machine build with everyone.
I know it will not be a "Professional" build since i am more about "Hobbie" here.

I mainly do stuff for my DiaLFonZo-Copter shop with cnc.
You can have a look HERE (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=176689)

Ok the CNC...

- XzeroCNC Viper X2 40x48
- 2510 X axis ballscrew
- 2010 Y axis ballscrew
- 30mm X and Y axis linear
- 5" Z axis assembly
- 8080 Frame extrusions
- 270oz Step motors
- 3x 3A driver
- LinuxCNC (EMC2) will be use for driving the CNC

Some pictures of the current assembly:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8144/7479118836_0db9ecd8dc.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7120/7479124108_72f09ce55c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8168/7479123596_88bc3ab669.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7109/7479122600_bf6672b7a9.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7279/7479121396_74b8e9f35a.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7253/7479119892_d601bdeded.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8018/7479119570_f2e0c2fd74.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7108/7479122066_afcd4769c8.jpghttp://farm9.staticflickr.com/8160/7479123194_4f495099cb.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8007/7479120968_c21470ac9c.jpghttp://farm9.staticflickr.com/8168/7479120550_ecfdbc544e.jpg

Better resolution pictures in that SET (http://www.flickr.com/photos/dialfonzo/sets/72157630370534646/)

First assembly of the Frame showing how smooth the ballscrews are.

Xzerocnc - ViperX2 - loose assembly - YouTube

DiaLFonZo
07-01-2012, 10:19 AM
- Reserved Setup -

DiaLFonZo
07-01-2012, 10:20 AM
- Reserved Upgrades -

gio666
07-04-2012, 06:37 PM
Machine does look smaller in pictures than in real life.

DiaLFonZo
07-04-2012, 06:38 PM
Machine does look smaller in pictures than in real life.

Yes it does.
But the table where it sit is a 4'x8' .. ;)

Can't wait to get that baby moving...

gio666
07-04-2012, 06:39 PM
Looks good so far

DiaLFonZo
07-12-2012, 08:46 PM
Should have parts soon to finish.
Could not get my mind on which breakout to choose..

finaly going with a usb one..

mecosv
07-27-2012, 02:52 PM
This machine looks great. Some questions: I finished assembling your machine? It is operational? As I was with the calibration of the axes? Did you check its accuracy?

DiaLFonZo
07-27-2012, 09:24 PM
This machine looks great. Some questions: I finished assembling your machine? It is operational? As I was with the calibration of the axes? Did you check its accuracy?

On vacation right now.
I will answer once back.

DiaLFonZo
07-30-2012, 09:36 AM
Ok i am back...

The machine is not finished yet.
Almost no time at real work... but i have also ordered a custom Z axis plate to George to fit my odd router mount.

Should have it real soon.

The assembly of the control pannel should be done this week if everything go right.. ;)

DiaLFonZo
09-09-2012, 06:31 PM
Hi All,

Sorry .. things are moving slow.
I have a lot of things to cut on my old CNC and that's not giving me time to get the new one in working order.

And i am just back from vacation.. lol

Today i started the Control pannel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9v6NcIec3k&feature=youtu.be

DiaLFonZo
09-23-2012, 03:36 PM
After a long wait...

Here is some moving.
Motors where setup by ear just to have them actualy move.. lol

DiaLFonZo-Copter - XZero CNC - first run Jog - YouTube

DiaLFonZo
09-26-2012, 07:33 AM
Ok All,

Here are some pictures of the enclosure as it is right now.
I have yet to wire any "Relay" to start and stop the spindle, but may not need them anyway since i will probably buy a SuperPID controller.

Enclosure...
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/8026238532_b9c13d5bc2_c.jpg

Motor driver...
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8322/8026238152_7ccb8b650c_c.jpg

USB controler
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8461/8026237767_9b3ba6743c_z.jpg

Connector inside...
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8317/8026237380_93fa486b85_z.jpg

Connector outside...
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8302/8026238836_c83168317a_z.jpg

Connectors i have use for the motors
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8314/8026237147_3db458b029_z.jpg

DiaLFonZo
09-26-2012, 07:37 AM
Oh ...
I didn't said anything about the "Router" itself..
I am getting a Bosch 1617EVS (http://www.boschtools.com/products/tools/Pages/boschproductdetail.aspx?pid=1617EVSPK)variable speed (8000rpm to 25000rpm).
It will be mounted on a K2CNC mount (http://k2cnc.3dcartstores.com/Bosch-1617EVS-Router-Mount_p_13.html) and PreciseBits collet kit (http://www.precisebits.com/products/equipment/bosch_1618_collets_nuts.asp#Bosch_1618_Collets) (1/8,1/4,1/2 size).

DiaLFonZo
09-26-2012, 10:56 AM
Some wiring info provided by George of XZeroCNC

DiaLFonZo
10-01-2012, 07:18 AM
VIDEO0027.mp4 - YouTube

DiaLFonZo-Copter - CNC Pencil test 3 - YouTube

DiaLFonZo-Copter - CNC Pencil test 2 - YouTube

DiaLFonZo-Copter - CNC Pencil test 1 - YouTube

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 11:44 AM
Yess.... One needed part show up.

Eric - DiaLFonZo

Sent from my cellphone using Tapatalk

gio666
10-04-2012, 05:27 PM
What is that mount for?

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 07:36 PM
What is that mount for?

This is the router mount and the dust shoe...

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8031/8055135221_ee46c4b9a9_c.jpg

gio666
10-04-2012, 07:42 PM
what brand of spindle? also will that dust boot clear stick out side of the dust shoe ?

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 07:44 PM
what brand of spindle? also will that dust boot clear stick out side of the dust shoe ?

It will be a Bosch router with precision collet kit.
Since i can't afford any better.. :(

I don't understand your question about the dust shoe...
My english is bad.. sorry..

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 07:45 PM
Would like a bath like that to cut with water...
Is it something you can make me ??

Carbon Cutting Bath.mp4 - YouTube

gio666
10-04-2012, 07:52 PM
Est-ce que la poussière accumulée côté droite de la machine

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 07:53 PM
Ne le pare-poussière effacer le côté de la verticale

That make less sense.. :p
Just explain in english but different word..

gio666
10-04-2012, 08:03 PM
A flood table is very easy to make on your own , not much to it.

gio666
10-04-2012, 08:06 PM
Asking if dust collector will clear the upright ( vertical ) when it is low to table top.

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 08:18 PM
Asking is dust collector will clear the upright ( vertical ) when it is low to table top.

Yes it's far from the vertical part.
And the rod that attach it to the router mount make it ajustable in height.

For the food table, I don't know there to start...
Since I am cutting thru material.
And that I need a system to hold the sheet.

gio666
10-04-2012, 10:05 PM
In the Video , the motors sound so loud and long ramping up , what do you have settings at

DiaLFonZo
10-04-2012, 10:14 PM
In the Video , the motors sound so loud and long ramping up , what do you have settings at

In which video?
I made a lot of different tests.

Now have something like 230 unit per, 3000mm/min vel, 150mm/sec acc

DiaLFonZo
10-05-2012, 10:46 PM
Some more moving tests...

Test - feedrate - YouTube

jassaf
10-06-2012, 04:24 AM
Hi, DiaLFonZo:

What is the settings of the stepper motor driver?

VIDEO0027.mp4 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=k6bFh79kaHo)


In the Video , the motors sound so loud and long ramping up , what do you have settings at

DiaLFonZo
10-06-2012, 07:00 AM
Hi, DiaLFonZo:

What is the settings of the stepper motor driver?

VIDEO0027.mp4 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=k6bFh79kaHo)

I will look to be sure.
But i am at 1/8 microstep

DiaLFonZo
10-06-2012, 12:22 PM
Hi, DiaLFonZo:

What is the settings of the stepper motor driver?

VIDEO0027.mp4 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=k6bFh79kaHo)

Here it is...

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8175/8059744746_4e7f8136fd_c.jpg

DiaLFonZo
10-06-2012, 12:24 PM
First cut done... to cut the tabletop holes and notch... ;)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8059747471_ab66eb59bf_c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8457/8059747260_5da55be25e_c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8460/8059750677_5fe93598d7_c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8037/8059746633_79eb99b654_c.jpg

DiaLFonZo
10-06-2012, 06:00 PM
Because i like pictures... Here are more.. :)

I installed a 90deg to hold the ingus rail for the Y and Z axis.
Also, i cutted an adaptor plate that go between the Stepmotor and the mount.
That hold the ingus raill on the axis.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8309/8060745526_f6b1c97801_b.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8319/8060743695_dfc49077b1_b.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8177/8060747082_a3dc76e537_b.jpg

DiaLFonZo
10-09-2012, 06:47 AM
Some cutting...
That cut was horible... i made another one after at half that speed.. and it was way better.

DiaLFonZo-Copter - MiniSpyder 1 - YouTube

DiaLFonZo-Copter - MiniSpyder 2 - YouTube

gio666
10-09-2012, 07:34 AM
is that Carbon you are cutting?

DiaLFonZo
10-09-2012, 07:43 AM
is that Carbon you are cutting?

No, it's G10 glass fiber (pcb like material) in 1.5mm tick.

Eric - DiaLFonZo

Sent from my cellphone using Tapatalk

jassaf
10-10-2012, 04:59 PM
Hi, DiaLFonZo:
I think you should have some configuration mistake . Your machine when starting and stopping the movement has a funny noise.


DiaLFonZo-Copter - XZero CNC - first run Jog - YouTube


I have two questions:
1- Its "motor tunning " the setting is 230 steps/per, I do not understand why that value, or is 320 steps/per.

2- The settings of your stepper motor driver line SW4 is "ON"... mine is "OFF"..
The question is: what happens when the full current is "active" or "ON"?

.

DiaLFonZo
10-10-2012, 06:08 PM
Hi, DiaLFonZo:
I think you should have some configuration mistake . Your machine when starting and stopping the movement has a funny noise.


DiaLFonZo-Copter - XZero CNC - first run Jog - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxfsGCCNr2c&feature=channel&list=UL)


I have two questions:
1- Its "motor tunning " the setting is 230 steps/per, I do not understand why that value, or is 320 steps/per.

2- The settings of your stepper motor driver line SW4 is "ON"... mine is "OFF"..
The question is: what happens when the full current is "active" or "ON"?

.

Thanks for helping me.. ;)

Yes i think it's 320 not 230...
That was an early video that i made and it was nothing right in term of Step Per and others.. just to make it move.

That is more what i have now.

DiaLFonZo-Copter - In Air test (07-10-1012) - YouTube

For the Full current i don't know but my motors get hot so i was looking to put it off..

inventor83
10-11-2012, 11:48 AM
2- The settings of your stepper motor driver line SW4 is "ON"... mine is "OFF"..
The question is: what happens when the full current is "active" or "ON"?

SW4-When motors are not moving, current is supplied to hold their position. Full current will be applied when SW4 is ON. Half of the set motor current will be applied when SW4 is OFF.

DiaLFonZo
10-11-2012, 11:50 AM
SW4-When motors are not moving, current is supplied to hold their position. Full current will be applied when SW4 is ON. Half of the set motor current will be applied when SW4 is OFF.

Thanks
Exacly what i was looking for in fact.
Since my motors are getting hot while stand still.

DiaLFonZo
10-26-2012, 09:19 AM
Hi All,

I have a strange issue and i would like to know if someone have an answer to that.

I have a USB breakout controller board buy at XZeroCNC.

While cutting the cnc look to stop.. or pause and do some strange movements.
Look at the two pictures. Both taken on the same sheet cut on the same run.

The center part on one of the part didn't cut right.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8326/8123654594_c3337f9b28_z.jpg
HD (http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8326/8123654594_4566a8c0c8_o.jpg)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8475/8123633817_1112fa1aa2_z.jpg
HD (http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8475/8123633817_7eb47ec98b_o.jpg)

I have many errors like that on the sheet.
Something like the Y axis was laging.

What's more weird is that at the end of the cut the CNC go HOME and it was exacly where it was at first.

I ran another cut after many wasted sheet but on another PC to test.
Since i am thinking it's a USB problem on my PC.

...?

DiaLFonZo
11-23-2012, 11:30 AM
I have receive the PC + Memory but the case is comming from another warehouse..
So i hook it up to a normal desktop PC Power supply and started the windows install.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8201/8211545086_4cd3627e5b_c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8201/8211687712_1966499f05_c.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8069/8211539270_127954d89e_c.jpg