PDA

View Full Version : Female mould milling



pupetxls
02-25-2012, 01:32 PM
Hi there,

Could anybody help me regarding a 3d pocket milling?
Sort of a female mould shape.

In the attachment you have what I need to do. Mill that red pocket.

Cut3d does an extra cut arround the pocket, which is something that I don't need.

I know Aspire can do it with the boundary vector option, but the part has another side, where I need mounting tabs. Aspire doesn't have this option for 3d milling. Also, the preview of the cut looks akward, giving bad paths.

Thanks in advance,
Pupet

Tony Mac
02-26-2012, 07:32 AM
Hello Pupet,

Aspire will allow 'Tabs' to be added to the part and then machine within
a selected boundary region. Simply create a new component that is the
required shape for a Tab and copy > paste > position / rotate additional
tabs into the required positions.

Not sure what you mean by > Also, the preview of the cut looks akward, giving bad paths?

Could you could post a file / image that shows what you mean.

Tony

pupetxls
02-26-2012, 09:17 AM
Hi there Tony,

Sure, attached you have an example.
You can see marks of the mill outside the boundaries. Also the contours are edgy and sketchy. Those outside boarders should be clean edges.
In Cut3d, they are as they should be, nice clean edges.

By tabs in Aspire, you mean by creating them from vectors and using the drawing utilities to align them and so on? haven't tought about that...
I was constantly looking for an option like Cut3d has for tabs. Your ideea might work, I'll have to try it.

No disrepsect intended, but I feel Cut3d like a Ferrari that's also an SUV, and cheaper than a bicycle. Best car money could buy. But the tradeoff? It doesn't have reverse gear :(

Too bad for me.

Thanks either way for your support.
Best regards,
Pupet

Tony Mac
02-26-2012, 04:09 PM
Aspire can be used to create the same / even better edge boundary
toolpaths that you get from Cut3D.

It's difficult to tell from the image how you are creating the profile
toolpath in Aspire, but I would guess it's not using the 2D Profile
toolpath around selected vectors.

If you could email the .CRV3D file to me - tonym@vectric.com
I'll take a look.

Tony