PDA

View Full Version : First thing done on my router

wedge
10-12-2005, 11:58 PM
Here is one of the first things done on my machine, its simple and easy to do I know, but its my first, its done with Deskengrave. Must be the easiest thing to do in cnc, but I m learning still. This was done with a pen taped to the machine.

http://www.cnczone.com/gallery/data/500/medium/cncname.jpg

Aksess
10-13-2005, 12:20 AM
Great job wedge Keep us informed of your progress!

wedge
10-13-2005, 12:58 AM
Thanks, I just need some help on going from dxf files to gcode, I did it once with ace converter, and went into Turbocnc, and it wouldn't recognize the file, ace puts out a .txt file, so I renamed it .cnc, is this what I should be doing? Any tips.

Thanks

Will

CNCRob
10-13-2005, 04:47 PM
Looks great wedge. Im not sure about .cnc I have never tried that extension before. I usually just put .nc on the end of mine, and at work we use .anc.

Jason Marsha
10-13-2005, 07:13 PM
Great start. Pics of the machine?

jason

ger21
10-13-2005, 07:22 PM
Thanks, I just need some help on going from dxf files to gcode, I did it once with ace converter, and went into Turbocnc, and it wouldn't recognize the file, ace puts out a .txt file, so I renamed it .cnc, is this what I should be doing? Any tips.

Thanks

Will

You can set up TurboCNC to use any extension you like. Change it under Configue>General Config.

Also, when saving the g-code from ACE, you can use any extension you want. Just put quotes around the filename, like "sample.cnc". If you don't use the quotes, it will save it as sample.cnc.txt.

wedge
10-13-2005, 08:26 PM
Ok, thanks guys, i will try that. I will get some pics of the machine. and post them too.

Will

spalm
10-13-2005, 11:01 PM
Great job Will, that is one of the best first pen plots I've seen.