PDA

View Full Version : Are you on cement?

howecnc
10-26-2011, 07:26 PM
Of the people who have bought a Mikini, how many of you with electrical issues have the machine base resting on your foundation floor?

I just installed vibration dampening leveling pads to my machine and the spindle is now performing more consistent than it ever has.

I am thinking of a car battery discharging when placed on cement could be a part of the problem/solution when using DC power but I am no expert.

SCzEngrgGroup
10-26-2011, 08:44 PM
I am thinking of a car battery discharging when placed on cement could be a part of the problem/solution when using DC power but I am no expert.

Of course, that's a bit of urban legend that just won't die.... It was true 50 or more years ago, when some batteries had rubber cases, but is absolutely not true for modern batteries with plastic cases.

By the same token, the DC spindle drive on a Mikini could not possibly care less what the machine is sitting on.

Regards,
Ray L.

SWATH
10-26-2011, 08:55 PM
I put leveling feet on mine but they aren't vibration dampening. Right now they are sitting on pieces of wood but I need to set them down on the concrete and level them soon.

mcphill
10-31-2011, 07:47 AM
I bought feet and never put them on (need to, front of the machine is about 1/2" lower than the rear so cutting fluid never drains). For now I am on concrete.

ROCKYMTN
10-31-2011, 01:11 PM
I've got my Mikini sitting in the garage on concrete. I used hex head bolts (I think 7/16" diameter) with the bolt head facing down on the concrete. Leveled it too using nuts on those same bolts to raise or lower as needed. I remember seeing an article about why dampeners are bad for a CNC machine as they allow too much vibration in the machine side. (can't seem to find the article now - of course!)

allenj20
11-01-2011, 12:40 AM
Mine sits on homemade hockey puck leveling feet not on the concrete. Now we really are chasing phantoms and ghosts :D

slowtwitch