PDA

View Full Version : New guy needs CAD

autotechsteve
09-14-2011, 12:33 PM
I have been a small time machinist and small shop owner for some time. I do mostly one off stuff for custom cars and what ever else comes my way. I recently have sold a large production order, my first, and made a decent amount at the same time. Did it all on a manual Bridgeport. Well now they came back with another large order. I have decided it is time for a CNC mill in the shop. I have spent a considerable amount of time on CNCzone looking for a solution and I have found a couple of machines that will fit the bill and budget. Now I am on to finding CAD/CAM software to design and produce parts. I would love to have high end software but I am on a budget so I need something around $1000 or less. I have looked at Dolphin and BobCad. Dolphin seems pretty good, don't know about the CAM part. Bobcad has numerous horror stories but the BobCad section is packed with posts so it looks as if it is used by many. I am looking for any one who has walked in my shoes and can offer advice to a guy trying to get a small shop into the new age. Thanks again CNCzone :cheers:
Steve

Mad Welder
09-14-2011, 08:34 PM
I would love to have high end software but I am on a budget so I need something around $1000 or less. I have looked at Dolphin and BobCad. Dolphin seems pretty good, don't know about the CAM part. Bobcad has numerous horror stories but the BobCad section is packed with posts so it looks as if it is used by many. I am looking for any one who has walked in my shoes and can offer advice to a guy trying to get a small shop into the new age. Thanks again CNCzone :cheers:
Steve

Hey there Steve, I myself as a coded pipe welder for over 20 years on the other side of the Atlantic pond:D, with machining background, self employed and adjusting to the world economic crisis:confused: have turned to CNC as a possible opportunity for moving forward.