PDA

View Full Version : Need Help... Have to install a 600V - 200 Amp line



Beezer
09-13-2011, 07:39 PM
Need some input from any Industrial Electricians out there.

My bosses have asked me to look into the cost of running a 3-phase 600V - 200Amp service to another part of the building, so we can run some large pieces of equipment that we get in for repair and testing. Mainly NDT mag benches.

Mainly they want me to figure out what materials we will need to get and the cost of those materials. They will then make the decision if the cost is worth while.

I have already got some pricing on the fuseable disconnect boxes, but not positive on what gauge wire I will need along with what size conduit.
From what little info I have been able to find it is looking that #2 AWG is what is called for, but since the run will be between 150 - 180 feet long I would like to know if #2 AWG is enough or do I have to goto larger size?

Any input would be appreciated.

jeffrey001
09-14-2011, 03:08 AM
Wire Size Calculator (http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html)

Wire Size Calculator (http://www.gorhamschaffler.com/wire_size_calculator.html)

With those calculator, #3 could be enough but if it was me, I would use #0 because of the lenght of the wires, 180 feet is a long run.


Less voltage drop equal less amp at the end of the year.


Jeff

Beezer
09-14-2011, 05:38 AM
Thanks. I had a feeling that #2 might be abit undersized for that length of run.