PDA

View Full Version : Newbie PDF files, multiple lines, RC foam cutting

red2
07-15-2011, 08:40 PM
Hi. Total CNC noob here. I want to use a cutting table to cut 6mm depron foam. I found PDF files (plans) for an RC plane that I want. I converted the PDF file to DXF, but a lot of the lines in the plans are many lines, one on top of the other. The cutter would try to cut the same line, maybe a dozen times, all over the plans. The "cut file" comes out too large, for the number of parts being cut.

I need software that takes all of these redundant lines in a PDF or DXF drawing, and converts them to a single line, in each case of multiple lines. I can't be the first guy who needs this, but a few searches of the forums here did not help.

Thanks,
Red2

cncshaper
07-19-2011, 03:21 PM
Hi,
I use a combination of Notepad, Profscan, MSExcel and Solidworks to make custom Dat files for my CNC foan cutter.
I don't think there is any software that can remove unwanted lines by itself, how does it know what to keep and what to delete???
You will have to find a combination of programs that can do what you need.

Emanuele.

red2
07-19-2011, 07:22 PM
Hi,
I use a combination of Notepad, Profscan, MSExcel and Solidworks to make custom Dat files for my CNC foan cutter.
I don't think there is any software that can remove unwanted lines by itself, how does it know what to keep and what to delete???
You will have to find a combination of programs that can do what you need.
Emanuele.
Emanuele,

A single "screen capture" of the complete plans would do the job, if it could be made into a DXF file (or something just as good), rather than a pixelated picture file. All redundant lines would be shown as a single line, then, and no important lines would be lost.

I can't see how NotePad would be of any help, unless I was editing a text file of data points by hand, to delete the redundant lines.

Thanks,
Red

cncshaper
07-20-2011, 01:10 AM
Hi Red,