PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Define custom stock shape



atypicalguy
07-12-2011, 02:16 PM
Hi,

I am milling a part that will take a long time to rough out unless I can define a custom stock shape. I see it is supposed to be possible, but I cannot figure out how to do it. I see a button on the "regions" toolbar to define the stock surfaces, but somehow it ends up milling the thing from a cube starting point no matter what I try. The toolpaths are fine but the run is longer than it has to be.

Thanks

atypicalguy
07-12-2011, 02:17 PM
PS this is three axis milling of MDF on a router - not the 4-axis stuff already mentioned in this forum.

svenakela
07-12-2011, 03:38 PM
Stock model is only available in Expert level license, do you have that?

atypicalguy
07-12-2011, 04:56 PM
11 day left on the trial version

svenakela
07-12-2011, 05:52 PM
Ok. lets say you make a box inside a cylinder. The box is your model and the cylinder is your stock.
First select the model and cutter as usual.
Deselect everything and select the cylinder (your stock model), then either right-click or left-holddown on the toolbar icon "Create box".
The submenu appears and click the second icon "Select model stock".

Now generate a roughing and run it in the simulator and you'll see the cylinder as the stock model.

Regards,
Sven

atypicalguy
07-12-2011, 07:16 PM
OK thanks I'll give that a try.

atypicalguy
07-12-2011, 10:32 PM
It worked. I think I was doing it correctly before, but the toolpath put a bunch of rapids across the part I was trying to leave out and I thought it was still trying to cut that part. I didn't know a polysurface would work to define the stock; that is cool. Thanks for the help.