PDA

View Full Version : hyundai hi t 8



Cartel, LLC
07-06-2011, 08:17 AM
so, im looking at a 95 turning center. the one set back is that its a siemens controller not a fanuc. is that really a set back?

BNR_RANDY
07-15-2011, 08:29 AM
My VMC is a Fanuc control, My lathe , a HIT-18S is a Siemens 840C. Does take some getting used to, canned cycles are radically different. The Siemens is DOS based with a standard hard drive and lots of memory compared to the Fanuc. My biggest gripe is the Siemens only displays machine distance, absolute and relative are nowhere to be found, so the numbers on the display are for all purposes meaningless. My Hyundai is also a 1995 vintage.

CNCRim
07-15-2011, 03:44 PM
Set back not really. It does require a little time to get use to since Siemen is quite diffirence than Fanuc, but it's very powerful software, and can be pain in the neck to program if special move need.

The one thing I hate about the machine alot is bad design, First the tailstock is in the way and it will limit you work space, If you're not very careful with retrace it's very easy to crash. Second is the toolsetter pro, it you have the turning tool sticking out more .9" and not careful touch off, you will smash the toolsetter sensor.

greyghost34
08-06-2011, 03:27 PM
" My biggest gripe is the Siemens only displays machine distance, absolute and relative are nowhere to be found, so the numbers on the display are for all purposes meaningless."

Go to "Setting Data" screen
Go to "General Data" screen
Scroll down to "WORK COORDINATE DISPLAY" and set to "yes".
Your position display will show programmed position rather than machine position.

Ken

BNR_RANDY
02-07-2012, 06:07 PM
Ken,
Many thanks for the reply, but my "general Data" screen only gives me setting for
Dry run feedrate
Incremental value for INC variable
Smoothing constant for threading

My NCK control is Siemens version 4.02 maybe thats why?