PDA

View Full Version : Cut Copper bar into segments



Johnnybgood3
06-27-2011, 11:29 PM
This is a really simple job but I just don't have the tools! I need Copper bar cut into segments. I tried with a hack saw but it took 40 minutes for the first cut and I don't have time to finish (plus it was kinda hard!).

The bar I have is 1/4" thick, 2" wide. Need just 3 more cuts at 10" each.
If you have a local source for this bar or similar (will used for electroplating so exact dimensions are very flexible) then I would maybe use that instead of shipping you my long piece. Let me know what you think, thanks!

Dualkit
06-28-2011, 04:44 PM
Why don't you just hit the yellow pages and find a local small machine shop? I am sure you could find some one man shop that would do it for a twelve pack, a lot cheaper than shipping the material back and forth.

Matt@RFR
06-28-2011, 05:25 PM
I'd do it for free and consider it a nice 2 minute break from programming!

Dualkit
06-28-2011, 08:34 PM
Also if you put your location in your heading someone might be in the same city you are in, just a thought.

Johnnybgood3
06-28-2011, 08:57 PM
Thanks for the suggestions :D I'm in San Diego!

Johnnybgood3
06-30-2011, 07:53 PM
Thanks to all who messaged me but upon someone's suggestion I'm just getting new copper bar in appropriate lengths from McMaster Carr!