PDA

View Full Version : RFQ - Small metal dowels

LotharSys
06-13-2011, 10:20 AM
I am looking to build something similar to mini tent poles, and need help building a prototype.

What I am going to need are around 15-20 100mm long metal dowels about 5.2mm in diameter. They will need to be hollow, with a 2mm diameter hole running through them, and have unthreaded male and female ends on each piece that mate.

This is my first time RFQing here, so if I didn't do it quite right, I apologize.

Regards,
LS

abcmojave
06-13-2011, 12:09 PM
LS,

A diagram would help. Along with tolerances, surface finish, timeline, etc.

LotharSys
06-13-2011, 03:02 PM
The timeline is just a general as soon as possible. Within a month would be nice.

The surface doesn't need to be finished, but there can't be spurs and such along the interior or the mating surfaces.

As for tolerances, whatever allows each piece to mate. The only inviolate rule is the outer diameter can't exceed 5.2mm, and the inner diameter can't be below 1.8mm. I'm not sure what tolerances are normal in this kind of work.

Attached is a screenshot of a simple SketchUp of the rod, to give a general idea. The other end is merely the female counterpart to the male end shown.

LS

Dualkit
06-13-2011, 08:04 PM
Drilling a 4" deep .078 hole isn't a lot of fun in most metals. First you need to select a material, it would be nice to use brass, or if steel is needed 303 stainless. Another thing t.i.r. or runout is an issue drilling deep with a small drill, that is how far the drill ends up off center. That will need to be spec'd out. This is a part where it is critical to let us know what the machinist can get away with, that is the difference between $10 parts and $100 parts.

LotharSys
06-13-2011, 09:39 PM
303 stainless sounds fine.

If the length of each piece needs to come down from about 4" to about 3", that's not a huge deal.