PDA

View Full Version : Please reccomend a CNC package for mini & micro mill

Peter_V
09-05-2005, 01:03 PM
Greetings all,

Newbie here.

I'm looking for a recommendation for a CNC package.
First the limitations:
I'm currently working at a remote location for the next year and the only way I can have anything shipped to me is via US Mail (no UPS, FedEx, truck shippment etc.). So anything I buy has to be light enough to be mailed <70 lbs.
This means I'm probably looking for something like a Taig, Serline, or...?
I don't mind buying the Mill and CNC controller sepearately, but I don't want to buy lots of pieces from separate places that need a lot of work to get up and running.
I'd prefer either a complete package (mill+CNC) or Mill from one place and the rest from another that is designed to bolt right up to the mill.

I already own a HF mini mill, but it's back home in AZ. I would, however, like it if the CNC controller could work with the HF Mill as well as what ever mill I buy now.

I don't mind spending the extra money on a Servo system, if it makes a significant difference.

I'm planning on working with plasic mostly and aluminum occasionally.
Is there a website that compares the pro/con of the Taig vs Sherline vs ?? Any recommendation on one over the other?
Is there a big advantage of the ER collect on the Taig?

Cost is not a major issue. I could go up to $4-5,000 if there is a large advantage of spending this much over the $2000-$2,700 for a ready to go CNC Sherline/Taig.

Thanks in Advance

fpworks
09-05-2005, 08:34 PM
Consider Minitech as well. Their machines are built with linear bearing ways and ballscrews (nearly maintenance free). They work with several different control, component, and spindle manufacturers to fit your budget. (notably DenverCNC who makes some unbelievable stepper control setups)

Their machines are a bit heavier, but they should be able to ship the machine in parts.