PDA

View Full Version : RFQ: Replication of Builders and Maker Plate



DilutedCheese
06-03-2011, 04:52 PM
I am in need of these two plates replicated.

https://picasaweb.google.com/AquaticEdge/VMRR?authkey=Gv1sRgCImY1qq3jqmY5QE#5575891146612097986

https://picasaweb.google.com/AquaticEdge/VMRR?authkey=Gv1sRgCImY1qq3jqmY5QE#5575891137008557666

I would like to have the circle plate made of steel and the rectangle plate made of bronze. I can provide a negative, and a positive of said plates.

Dualkit
06-03-2011, 05:21 PM
Not for me, but I would assume the person quoting would need rough dimensions, nothing in the pictures to scale them from.

DilutedCheese
06-03-2011, 05:23 PM
Sorry about that, was not thinking about dimensions. The Rectangle plate is 6-7 inches long, 4-5 inches tall and about an inch wide

the round plate is 4-5 inches across and 1/4 of an inch thick at the edges (would like to have it a hair thicker)

Hope this helps

azmachining
06-05-2011, 02:51 AM
The bronze is going to be a little over $200.00.

DilutedCheese
06-05-2011, 02:53 AM
hmm. bronze is pricy these days..

azmachining
06-05-2011, 07:11 PM
hmm. bronze is pricy these days..

Yeah it sure is, for a 1" thick x 4" tall x 12" long peice of CA954 aluminum bronze to be exact is $219.45. You could go with brass, but that's still not cheap you'd be looking at $162.00.

BFModel
06-06-2011, 08:29 AM
remove

azmachining
06-06-2011, 08:26 PM
You might be better off having a pattern made & going to a foundry. contact me if you need any more info.
Info@BFModel.net

You own or work at a foundry that will cast 1-2 parts? That's unheard of, every foundry we've dealt with want to cast at least 100 parts and they didn't really even like doing that. Let me know how big of castings you can do and where your located if so, occasionally we need parts cast, but don't have the volume to justify "to the foundry at least".

DilutedCheese
06-06-2011, 08:28 PM
You might be better off having a pattern made & going to a foundry. contact me if you need any more info.
Info@BFModel.net

Thats one thing that turned me away from the foundries, they want the minimum order I saw was 150. I dont need that many. just one of each.

macrobb
06-07-2011, 02:21 AM
I'm curious: Wouldn't it be cheaper just to have the piece made out of aluminum, and then electroplate(or anodize) it to the proper finish color? Or is there some specific reason why the rectangular plate has to be made of bronze?

DilutedCheese
06-07-2011, 03:26 AM
I'm curious: Wouldn't it be cheaper just to have the piece made out of aluminum, and then electroplate(or anodize) it to the proper finish color? Or is there some specific reason why the rectangular plate has to be made of bronze?
1. It's not a exact replication if the materials do not match
2. I do not have access nor any place around who will plate it.
3. It's not what the person who wants the replicates from me wants...

macrobb
06-08-2011, 02:17 AM
#3 was the answer I was looking for. Thanks.

azmachining
06-08-2011, 02:36 AM
I'm curious: Wouldn't it be cheaper just to have the piece made out of aluminum, and then electroplate(or anodize) it to the proper finish color? Or is there some specific reason why the rectangular plate has to be made of bronze?

Actually no it would be just as expensive to have 1 part anodized vs just buying the correct material. You figure minimum anodizing order is normally $125.00 some places are $75.00.