PDA

View Full Version : 1/4" aluminum set up



RHmotorsports
05-01-2011, 09:23 PM
what are some basic machine set up for 1/4" aluminum? i have a miller spectrum 1000 plasma

WSS
05-03-2011, 02:16 PM
what are some basic machine set up for 1/4" aluminum? i have a miller spectrum 1000 plasma

I am not 100% sure but the spectrum 1000 is made by Hypertherm, you could follow the cut charts from the powermax 1000. It is a 60 amp machine.

The Hypertherm cut charts are spot on usually. I have never cut aluminum, so I can't offer much help here.

WSS

jimcolt
05-03-2011, 06:38 PM
The torch is made by Hypertherm...but it is a bit different from the Powermax1000 torch...however the cut charts (under mechanized torch cutting) will get you in the ballpark.

Jim Colt

colorvp
04-10-2013, 08:53 PM
Do you know,if retrofited correctly, a new Duramax torch will do on a miller spectrum 1000? I'm asking this because in Mexico where I am is kind of hard to find consumables for this machine, and cut quality is worse compared to an Old Hypertherm Max70 and an Esab PCM-875 cutters.

jimcolt
04-10-2013, 09:11 PM
I really cannot answer the question as we have never retrofitted a Duramax torch on anything but a Hypertherm system. Chances are that due to the newer torch technology...that it would work much better than the original torch.


Jim Colt Hypertherm


Do you know,if retrofited correctly, a new Duramax torch will do on a miller spectrum 1000? I'm asking this because in Mexico where I am is kind of hard to find consumables for this machine, and cut quality is worse compared to an Old Hypertherm Max70 and an Esab PCM-875 cutters.

colorvp
10-26-2013, 09:56 PM
Hello.

I have ordered a Duramax torch for a powermax65, and I installed in my cnc plasma cutter. As I commented in this thread, I have an spectrum 1000 that I always had trouble finding consumables. The torch works fine, since is very similar with original from miller. Now my plasma is dead not because of the torch, but I believe for the total runing hours. One big capacitor blow off, I replace both of them with new ones, but it still have some trouble. Maybe I should create a new tread to comment this.

greetings everyone.

Alfonso