PDA

View Full Version : How To Stick Weld 2mm onto 4mm ?

abrogard
04-26-2011, 08:44 PM
I'm a mug welder...

Latest task is to weld 2mm thick 24mm OD gal pipe onto 4mm thick 36mm OD gal pipe.

The job is laying flat on the bench. It's legs and crosspieces for a table.

Do I go 130A (my welder's max - they say for 3.2mm, that's the theoretical max I can weld I suppose, but the job's gotta be done with it) for the 4mm or 55A for the 2mm or something in between?

And use what technique? Run a bead or tack weld? Bead on the thick pipe and flow onto the thin? Or bead on the thin, flow onto the thick? Or bead on both at once?

I am, of course, trying to find the way myself but with so many variables I just keep getting inconclusive results and probably the best thing to do is just ask someone who knows.

:)

toolsrule
04-27-2011, 02:09 AM
i would use rated amp/voltages for think to thin as best make two passes of differnt amp/voltages

applejiya
04-27-2011, 02:25 AM
hey i recently learnt how to stick weld but sometimes when i strike it the rod sticks to the metal is there a way to stop this?

toolsrule
04-27-2011, 02:34 AM
hey i recently learnt how to stick weld but sometimes when i strike it the rod sticks to the metal is there a way to stop this?

drag the arc...(drag your rod against the metal) as it lights to a strong arc pull away and began welding

abrogard
04-27-2011, 06:25 AM
Well I've been getting some results that look okay and feel okay... but how good they really are I don't know without an x-ray.

What I've done is use max Amps on my machine which gives me 130A, enough for 3.2mm metal, it says.

And I try to stay on the thicker pipe and let the weld pool flow onto the thinner one.

sometimes it works good and sometimes not so good.