PDA

View Full Version : 5x10 dyna, I need software

blacksheep10
04-16-2011, 02:35 PM
I have autocad 2000 (I think), am self taught and probably still don't know what I'm doing.
I have whatever basic cut program came with my dyna when it was new in 06 or so, and the aforementioned CAD.
My needs:
1) Nesting.
I cut several things (beadlock rings etc) with large open center areas that I want filled with various tabs and such so the plate doesn't go to waste. The painfully long way I do it now is go to CAD, select and copy what tabs I want and drop them into the center, save as and go to the G code generator on dyna and create a whole new Tap file every time. I would swear when I used to have stuff cut by the guy in town with a plasmacam that he was scanning stuff, dragging it to the area he wanted it from a "bin" of parts laying there, clicking on them to make a toolpath and hitting cut. I would love to be able to drag and drop, lead in and make a toolpath semi-quickly.
2) Scanning
Again, on the plasmacam I watched work, I would take a piece of beer box the shape I wanted in and he would scan it on an old Wal Mart scanner and import it, click the start points and push cut. I want to be able to do this as my CAD is terrible, and even worse when I'm trying to draw a file off of a crudely cut template that doesn't have square edges.
3) Text / Ornamental stuff
If I want to write something and cut it, or make a leaf (random example) what do I need here.

What I am asking is what kind of software do I need to buy to make my life easier. Scanning and making a toolpath would be huge. I have folks bring stuff over quite a bit that I have to scale, measure, waste a half hour drawing (slow in CAD) and sometimes recut if I've made an error. Maybe there are things the Dyna software does that I'm not aware of.

Thanks in advance
Kelly

WSS
04-16-2011, 03:27 PM
I have autocad 2000 (I think), am self taught and probably still don't know what I'm doing.