PDA

View Full Version : pcmcia parallel port card ?



WsW-WYATT
08-20-2005, 02:52 PM
not sure if this is the right area to post this ... but here it goes ...

i purchased an acer 3002LCi laptop to run my mill off of ...

and it doesn't have a parallel port ... so i was wondering if i was to get a pcmcia parallel port card .. would that work ??

if anyone has any info on this ... it would be great .. any particular brand ?

thanks for the help ... greatly appreciated

Ben

debco99
09-05-2005, 02:56 PM
I dont know whay you are concerned about parallel ports, dont your cnc use a serial port??

If you dont have a serial port on your new laptop, you need a port replicator and a usb memory card reader.

You can buy one for about 20 bucks.

Regards

Dave

JFettig
09-05-2005, 03:24 PM
dave, his cnc doesnt run off serial, but parallel, his laptop doesnt even have a serial port. Port replicators cost more than $20, what would the usb mem card reader be for?

The pcmcia parallel port adapter that we found that should be able to do it will cost around $100

Jon

debco99
09-06-2005, 04:22 PM
I was assuming his laptop didnt have a pcmcia slot, and his cnc used a serial port.

Im my case due to a inop pcmcia slot i purchased a usb memory card reader which i use to modify ladder data on fanuc control (cost 19.95) I only bought cause my port didnt work.

If he using a btr or drip feeding direct to the parallel port, then of course he needs a parallel replicator.

Regards

JavaDog
09-06-2005, 05:32 PM
Hmm...I haven't seen any PCMCIA to Par. card lately. I know SIIG (http://www.siig.com/product.asp?catid=28&pid=225) still has their PCMCIA to RS-232 Serial card, but I don't think that is going to help you much...

JRoque
09-06-2005, 08:53 PM
Hello, If your intention is to run Mach2 or the like, make sure the PCCard-to-parallel card is a true bidirectional parallel port. Most cheap ones will be good for a printer but not to control a CNC machine. Before you buy check with the maker and ask them if you can flip each individual pin on/off and if all of the pins are supported. If you decide for a laptop docking station, consider that for about the same price you can buy an entry level desktop that can be dedicated to the machine.

Cheers,
JR

abasir
09-06-2005, 09:29 PM
I bought one from http://www.transdigital.net/
Seems to have all the feature and it works in plain DOS as well (meaning I can run TurboCNC with it).

Nono
09-07-2005, 01:07 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815104253 49.99 and 5.00 fedex in the US and yes it will work for the price

WsW-WYATT
09-07-2005, 07:29 AM
thanks guys ....

i will order one today ...

reason i didn't go with a desktop is because of where the unit is at ... it was thought of ....

thanks again !!!