PDA

View Full Version : Gcode from dxf



SPEEDRE
08-13-2005, 10:11 AM
I think I read here somewhere that one could import a dxf file direct to Mach2/3 for code generation? Is that for real and if so that would mean I don't need a CadCam software???? :confused: :confused:

ger21
08-13-2005, 10:17 AM
Yes, you can. Does it mean you won't need CAM? Depends on what you want to do. While Mach2/3's .dxf conversion is pretty basic, creative use of layers will let you do pretty complex things.

ger21
08-13-2005, 10:19 AM
Download a copy and install it. During the install, uncheck the box that says "install driver". This will let it run in simulation mode where yoiu can play around with it. It's fully functional up to 1000 lines of g-code.

SPEEDRE
08-13-2005, 01:36 PM
I did what you suggested and it did not work. AutoCad v 12 saves splines as splines and it still won't open in BobCad. :(

ger21
08-13-2005, 08:02 PM
Start AutoCAD. draw a spline. Save As version 12 .dxf. Close the drawing. Open it back up in AutoCAD. It will now be a polyline, not a spline.

If you don't close the drawing and reopen it, it will still appear to be a spline. It does work, every time, because v12 .dxf does NOT support splines, which is why they are converted.

cutleader
02-11-2014, 01:51 AM
If you use spline in DXF file, it is better to optimize the drawing less lines and arcs in cad/cam software first, then convert the drawing to G-Code with leadin/out.