PDA

View Full Version : Unnecessary Surface Cut - Cut3D



Arashb
03-11-2011, 06:38 AM
Hello, I want to make a plastic mount for my new router and Ive designed the my plans in SketchUp.

My problem is that for all the flat surfaces that already exist in my material, the program tool path (in finishing, with not enough holes in rough) wants to make it flat all over again, even if I set the material thickness to be thinner then the model.

http://i51.tinypic.com/ddchfd.jpg
http://i55.tinypic.com/314vx2g.jpg



Picture of my machine
http://i56.tinypic.com/10dtjxs.jpg



Edit
I found out my model is better suited for Aspire or the 2D & VCarve Program

C.Michael
04-24-2011, 02:25 AM
Use v carve if you have it..Draw a 2 d sketch..separate perimeter and separate pockets representing your notches. Have v carve using the pocket feature to cut the pockets(notches)..And then the perimeter cut feature to cut out your perimeter..You were skinning the cat the wrong way..your way would have worked but you were wasting alot of time cutting what was already cut

C.Michael
04-24-2011, 02:39 AM
Take a look