PDA

View Full Version : Is It possible to change Helical Move Codes with M-Post



MSFAB
02-26-2011, 10:23 PM
Hi There I have a machine that only does helical in Polar Coordinates. A Sample line looks like this
G13 G91 H+3240 Z+13.5 F200

G13 Helix in counter clockwise direction
G91 H+3240 total angle travled
Z+13.5 Height of helix in incremental angle

I want to have the post make every helical move into this format. I dont know if that is possible m-post. I am using surfcam V3

But A pole has to be defined before the helical move can happen. If there is no pole defined the machine will fault.

Sample Program
A pole can be defined with an I and J in absolute coordinates before or with a G29 Capture

N60 x50 y30
N70 G29 Defines Pole
N80 Z-12 M03 Move to start position
N90 G11 G41 R+32 H-180 F100 move with comp to first point
N100 G13 G91 H+3240 Z+13.5 F200 Helical Inc move in angle and Z
N110 G00 G40 G90 x50 y30

Any Helps Thanks for the Time
Marcus

Excelmachine
02-28-2011, 04:09 PM
What machine is this and what controller? That info might help in answering your question.

MSFAB
03-02-2011, 04:04 PM
The machine is a Bridgeport series 1 interact with a hiedenhain tnc-360 controller.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

Excelmachine
03-02-2011, 04:25 PM
Dang, we literally sold this same exact machine 2 weeks ago with all of the manuals. I'm not sure if I'll be able to help but I will look around and see if we have an old program with that kind of move.

MSFAB
03-03-2011, 09:17 PM
I actually have all the manuals. and I have done helical moves manually programming it. i Just Didnt want surfcam to spit out a whole bunch of linear moves in x,y and z. I didnt know if m-post was powerful enough to change an I J K move into this polar coordinate move. I have been doing a lot of looking around and it looks like I will have to just deal with the x,y,z linear moves, And manually program the thread milling operations that I have been doing. Thanks for the time. I dont know enough about s-post to tackle it yet. But i will post if I do get it figured out. Thanks for the responce.

cheers
Marcus