PDA

View Full Version : Information regarding Tree 325 Please?

tminnig
01-04-2011, 06:00 PM
I have been machining for about 16 years now, and am considering purchasing a machine of my own to put in my garage and do a little side work. I have found what seems to be a good deal on a 1990 Tree 325, but unfortunately I don't have any experience, nor do I know of someone that does, with this machine. I would like to go and look at it sometime this week, but was hoping that maybe some of you that are familiar with the machine could give me some direction as to what things I should pay particular attention to.

I would like to get into doing some tooling and R&D type work... short production and short lead times, if that helps. I need to know what type of accuracy and precision I can count on assuming that the machine is in good shape so I don't get myself in hot water with a part that the machine is not capable of producing. Also, I would really appreciate any information concerning common problems or other things that may affect my purchase decision. This will be a small shop (in my garage). I would also like any information regarding air requirements.

Thanks in advance,
Travis

underthetire
01-04-2011, 06:11 PM
J325 is a good machine, however a 1990 might be a little "early" think those still had a system 10 dynapath. It's still a good control, but didn't have the EIA programming (G-code) with the conversational. Air requirements- anything will do, just a air drawbar. Failure modes- in order of importance.
1. Spindle drive. They fail. Make sure you can see the spindle run. If you buy the machine, remove the spindle drive and clean the back of it and the cage around it. 2-3K to fix
2. Axis are old DC. Check for noise, they get out of tune, and the encoders get loose after time. If it has a jittery axis, double think your purchase or at least plan on a tune up or motor rebuild.